DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2011 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2011 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2011 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-10-2014, 08:42 PM
chuckie chuckie is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: san diego
Posts: 174
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011
Trim Level: r/t
Color: silver
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:102
chuckie will become famous soon enoughchuckie will become famous soon enough
Default naviagtion speedometer

Was using the speed reading on the nav to tweak my speedometer
cal with the diablo intune and accidently found something pretty neat -
If you touch the speed readout on the nav it turns the screen into a giant speedometer. It also shows max speed - in my case 104 ( before turning off
limiter) No longer need to worry about maxing out the 120 mph speedo
as the nav will track past that . ( not that I would drive that fast anyway )
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-11-2014, 12:30 AM
RogerRamJet's Avatar
RogerRamJet RogerRamJet is offline
God Bless Texas!




 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, TX
Age: 49
Posts: 9,934
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Lonestar QC
Color: White
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 11
Rep:2918
RogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckie View Post
Was using the speed reading on the nav to tweak my speedometer
cal with the diablo intune and accidently found something pretty neat -
If you touch the speed readout on the nav it turns the screen into a giant speedometer. It also shows max speed - in my case 104 ( before turning off
limiter) No longer need to worry about maxing out the 120 mph speedo
as the nav will track past that . ( not that I would drive that fast anyway )
That's right! Because no one wants to go that fast... because they can... on an open stretch of highway... and see just what they can peg the speedo at...
__________________
Life is hard... It's harder if you're stupid!
Today is a good day to be a RAM owner!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2014, 06:34 PM
rumpity rumpity is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Granville, NY
Age: 69
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Silver
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rumpity is on a distinguished road
Default

The speedometer issue raises a question for me. If I put a lift kit and 35/12:50R20s on my 2011 Ram Sport, that should throw off the speedometer since the tire diameter is larger. But someone told me that the speedometer would read ground speed (I have the navigation system) so that the larger tires wouldn't throw off the speedometer. True?

If not, what is the best way to compensate if you want 35s - go to a smaller wheel?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2014, 09:40 PM
chuckie chuckie is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: san diego
Posts: 174
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011
Trim Level: r/t
Color: silver
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:102
chuckie will become famous soon enoughchuckie will become famous soon enough
Default

I don't think the ground speed theory is true as I noticed the nav speed really lags
on fast acceleration or deceleration - it takes a few seconds to catch up with
speedo.... I have also heard the opposite - that the nav reads off the speedo signal.
On way to test is tow your truck on a flatbed with ignition on and see if nav reads
when tow truck is moving... Maybe someone else has more info on this subject
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2014, 12:04 AM
drew7811's Avatar
drew7811 drew7811 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Walton, Ky
Age: 35
Posts: 70
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram Laramie Crew
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
drew7811 is on a distinguished road
Default

Interesting. Sorry for being naive, but which radio/nav system has the speedometer built in to the Nav? I have the 730N in my truck. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2014, 12:47 AM
chuckie chuckie is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: san diego
Posts: 174
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011
Trim Level: r/t
Color: silver
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:102
chuckie will become famous soon enoughchuckie will become famous soon enough
Default

I have the 430N in mine.
In map mode the speed shows in little box on bottom right
Tap that box and boom you get a big display of speed
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2014, 04:44 AM
drew7811's Avatar
drew7811 drew7811 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Walton, Ky
Age: 35
Posts: 70
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram Laramie Crew
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
drew7811 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckie View Post
I have the 430N in mine.
In map mode the speed shows in little box on bottom right
Tap that box and boom you get a big display of speed

Huh. I went and took a look (haven't driven anywhere yet), but it's the 730N RER and I went to the map view, but the bottom right corner it's blank. It just has a menu buttom in the center bottom of that screen. Nothing to the right. Your's is a factory radio right? Does anyone know if the 730N RER has the speedo option in it? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-22-2014, 11:56 AM
huntergreen huntergreen is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: nj
Posts: 5,741
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 dodge sport 1500 hemi
Trim Level: sport
Color: green
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 7
Rep:621
huntergreen is a name known to allhuntergreen is a name known to allhuntergreen is a name known to allhuntergreen is a name known to allhuntergreen is a name known to allhuntergreen is a name known to all
Default

i thought nav. speed readout was based off satellites, not our speedo.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum