DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2011 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2011 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2011 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

View Poll Results: Have you experienced the torque converter problem?
Yes, I had this problem and had or plan to have it fixed. 191 32.43%
No, I have not noticed this problem. 286 48.56%
I can't determine for sure if I have this problem. 112 19.02%
Voters: 589. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #291  
Old 03-08-2012, 08:54 AM
TransEngineer TransEngineer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Grass Lake, MI
Posts: 1,212
Gender: Male
Vehicle: N/A
Rep Power: 4
Rep:350
TransEngineer is just really niceTransEngineer is just really niceTransEngineer is just really niceTransEngineer is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelman501 View Post
@ TransEngineer....I dont know why i put 30MPH, i meant to say 40MPH and up, whooops lol...I had the truck at my local Dodge dealership today...After waiting ALL day to hear from them and having heard nothing, i decided to give them a call...The only person i was able to speak with was the woman working the service desk, she couldnt tell me much but what she was able to tell me was that i was getting an entirely new transmission installed tomorrow under warranty...I dont know whether this is good news or bad news, she was unable to tell me whether it had anything to do with the torque converter or not, i guess i will find out when i pick it up...
They did WHAT?!?! There goes our warranty costs! It will be interesting to see whether this "repair" actually fixes anything for you.

If you could post your VIN (last 8 digits), it would be helpful. I'll try to see if we can get our hands on your old trans to see if there was actually anything wrong with it....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #292  
Old 03-09-2012, 02:12 AM
michaelman501 michaelman501 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver BC
Age: 26
Posts: 19
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 DODGE RAM
Trim Level: SLT
Color: WHITE
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
michaelman501 is on a distinguished road
Default

I got the truck back today, and the service adviser lady i spoke to on the phone was wrong about replacing the entire tranny, even though i asked her to double check on this! They just replaced the torque converter and now the noise is all cleared up! One thing i noticed now that i have the truck back is i am getting a hard downshift at around 40mph ish......Shifts down really hard and has NEVER done this before, is there a reflash for the 2010 rams ?
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 03-09-2012, 07:27 AM
TransEngineer TransEngineer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Grass Lake, MI
Posts: 1,212
Gender: Male
Vehicle: N/A
Rep Power: 4
Rep:350
TransEngineer is just really niceTransEngineer is just really niceTransEngineer is just really niceTransEngineer is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelman501 View Post
..... One thing i noticed now that i have the truck back is i am getting a hard downshift at around 40mph ish......Shifts down really hard and has NEVER done this before, is there a reflash for the 2010 rams ?
I don't know whether any updated flashes are available. It's possible they ran a "quicklearn" when they replaced your converter (which resets all the trans adaptive parameters), so it might just need to learn back in to where it was.

When you say "hard downshift," I presume you mean a hard coastdown shift (at closed throttle, as you're slowing down), and not a hard kickdown shift (when you go to pass someone, etc.). Is that correct? Give it a week or two and see if it learns out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 03-09-2012, 09:32 PM
michaelman501 michaelman501 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver BC
Age: 26
Posts: 19
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 DODGE RAM
Trim Level: SLT
Color: WHITE
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
michaelman501 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes TransEngineer thats correct....Closed throttle just coasting to slowdown and it just downshifts really hard...I hope this sorts it self out or i will be back at the dealership again...Just want to say thanks again buddy, really really appreciate your help.

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:21 PM
11ramsltupcott 11ramsltupcott is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Age: 31
Posts: 6
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram SLT
Trim Level: SLT
Color: BLUE
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
11ramsltupcott is on a distinguished road
Default

Good day

I had my tc changed under a problem with noise. Now the rpms are fluctuating between 1000 rpm and such as well as constant speed shuddering. I can't seem to pinpoint at what rpm it shudders but when it does it is awful at highway speeds there is a drone wave noise that gets worse from 100km and above with cruise on or off and the trailer tow on or off. I don't know what to do. They replaced my entire rear carrier as well and it's still there
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 03-13-2012, 03:40 PM
timeline timeline is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MILTON FL
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: BLACK
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
timeline is on a distinguished road
Default

Had to have my converter replaced at 6,000 miles on 2011 5.7 hemi
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:07 PM
BigSwede's Avatar
BigSwede BigSwede is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Balmer, MD
Age: 40
Posts: 420
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram Sport Crew Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:371
BigSwede is just really niceBigSwede is just really niceBigSwede is just really niceBigSwede is just really nice
Default

Have been waiting since before Christmas on a backordered torque converter. I'm about to lose my mind waiting on it. Complete BS
__________________
-Frank
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:50 PM
TransEngineer TransEngineer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Grass Lake, MI
Posts: 1,212
Gender: Male
Vehicle: N/A
Rep Power: 4
Rep:350
TransEngineer is just really niceTransEngineer is just really niceTransEngineer is just really niceTransEngineer is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigSwede View Post
Have been waiting since before Christmas on a backordered torque converter. I'm about to lose my mind waiting on it. Complete BS
BS is correct. The converter kit you'd need for a standard 5.7L (RL051146AB) is in stock at several parts depots, including 8 in New York and 15 in Atlanta. There are also 943 of them in stock and available at our national Sherwood depot. There should be no problem getting one of these converters.

And in case you've got an R/T model, that converter kit is RL051167AB. There are 2 in Atlanta and 54 at Sherwood.

These converter kits are NOT backordered. They are available!

And for you 4.7L fans, kit RL051241AB is also in stock (715 available).
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 03-16-2012, 03:12 PM
BigSwede's Avatar
BigSwede BigSwede is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Balmer, MD
Age: 40
Posts: 420
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram Sport Crew Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:371
BigSwede is just really niceBigSwede is just really niceBigSwede is just really niceBigSwede is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TransEngineer View Post
BS is correct. The converter kit you'd need for a standard 5.7L (RL051146AB) is in stock at several parts depots, including 8 in New York and 15 in Atlanta. There are also 943 of them in stock and available at our national Sherwood depot. There should be no problem getting one of these converters.

And in case you've got an R/T model, that converter kit is RL051167AB. There are 2 in Atlanta and 54 at Sherwood.

These converter kits are NOT backordered. They are available!

And for you 4.7L fans, kit RL051241AB is also in stock (715 available).
Thanks for the info. I will be calling the stealer today!
__________________
-Frank
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 03-17-2012, 12:50 PM
B.B99 B.B99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Carleton Place,Ontario
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: 1500 ST Quad Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
B.B99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Took my truck in for its ten k service and asked them to check on the noise ( I knew it was there ). The service manager confirmed this. They kept the truck overnite and changed the torque the next day. Noise is gone and now its is hard to tell when the mds kicks in. Before there was a noticeable vibration when it was on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To, Remove Transmission and Torque Converter moparornocar72 Dodge Ram Knowledge Base 7 10-03-2011 11:10 PM
Torque converter..which one and where? Travis Custom Chassis - Drive Line - Suspension - Wheels and Tires - LIFTING - Dodge Ram 4x4, 2x4 4 02-28-2010 07:13 PM
Blue torque converter DODGE4x4 Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.9 Liter V8 2 02-09-2010 11:09 PM
Torque converter questions... blazn189 Off Topic Discussion 2 12-14-2009 11:02 PM
Torque converter seems to be locked iceracer 5.9L V8 Specific Topics 6 09-25-2009 01:04 PM


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:02 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum