DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2011 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2011 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2011 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 12-13-2011, 11:22 AM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,304
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

The rearend would hold up, it's the same setup used in all the 1500's except the heavy duty's, no reason to worry about that.

I may be wrong but I don't think they made any 4th gen manual 4.7L's. If this is true it would be a big computer problem. I think they made some 3rd gen 4.7L's with manual, which means you should be able to bolt up that gearbox and the same driveshaft. Worst case scenario there is you'd have to have the driveshaft modified to fit which isn't too crazy expensive. The pedal set, master cylinder, gearbox, etc... would/should be easy enough to fit up. The big problem is that if there are not factory 4th gen's with manual, then you wouldn't have a pcm configured correctly to make it all communicate properly. Or maybe since it's manual, it doesn't need any communication so it wouldn't be an issue, I don't know. I know when swapping it is always best to have complete, matching ecm/tcm/pcm's to go with that setup for that year vehicle, otherwise some things may not work (speedo, EVIC, etc...).

Have a link to what you're looking at? I'd love a manual in my truck...
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22  
Old 12-13-2011, 11:33 AM
bobhorn bobhorn is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Queens NYC
Posts: 26
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 ram 1500 2wd express
Trim Level: 1500 express
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
bobhorn is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to bobhorn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snrusnak View Post
The rearend would hold up, it's the same setup used in all the 1500's except the heavy duty's, no reason to worry about that.

I may be wrong but I don't think they made any 4th gen manual 4.7L's. If this is true it would be a big computer problem. I think they made some 3rd gen 4.7L's with manual, which means you should be able to bolt up that gearbox and the same driveshaft. Worst case scenario there is you'd have to have the driveshaft modified to fit which isn't too crazy expensive. The pedal set, master cylinder, gearbox, etc... would/should be easy enough to fit up. The big problem is that if there are not factory 4th gen's with manual, then you wouldn't have a pcm configured correctly to make it all communicate properly. Or maybe since it's manual, it doesn't need any communication so it wouldn't be an issue, I don't know. I know when swapping it is always best to have complete, matching ecm/tcm/pcm's to go with that setup for that year vehicle, otherwise some things may not work (speedo, EVIC, etc...).

Have a link to what you're looking at? I'd love a manual in my truck...
Hi Sean, yea American PowertrainSpecialty Performance Parts, 5 and 6 speed Transmission Conversions and Accessories
I'm really considering the changeover again it will need a tuner for it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-13-2011, 11:41 AM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,304
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

I don't see a "kit" but I don't know...
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-14-2011, 02:00 AM
bobhorn bobhorn is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Queens NYC
Posts: 26
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 ram 1500 2wd express
Trim Level: 1500 express
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
bobhorn is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to bobhorn
Default

I know there is no Kit per say, but if any one can do it its American Powertrain.
They only need to sell or install one! But As I drive my Ram hard, it just Cuts the throttle any time any loss of traction is detected! Especially with the Rear snows I had to put on for the Winter. We all just have to wait for a Tuner!
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-14-2011, 08:14 AM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,304
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

The only problem is the pcm. An aftermarket tuner will not allow you to manipulate enough to reprogram for auto/manual/etc... It only has limited functions.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum