120V recepticale? - DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum
DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum > LD RAM - Ram 1500 Forum > 2017 Dodge Ram Forum


2017 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2017 Dodge Ram!


Vendor Highlight! - Check these guys out for great deals on Parts and Accessories!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-12-2019, 05:40 PM
Ooooner's Avatar
Ooooner Ooooner is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2017 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Delmonico Red Pearl Coat
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Ooooner is on a distinguished road
Default 120V recepticale?

OK... Saw an advertisement for the new Chevy Silverado having a 120V recepticale in the bed area.

What would it take to install one in our RAMS? I figure it would need an inverter. Sure would be convenient!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-12-2019, 08:07 PM
Sprmktrefertech's Avatar
Sprmktrefertech Sprmktrefertech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 12
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Sprmktrefertech is on a distinguished road
Default

If you're in the market for a new truck its available. I have a 110v receptical in the Rambox.
If not, yes, an inverter is fine too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2019, 08:20 PM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 32,520
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2016 Ram Ecodiesel 2 whl drive
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 32
Rep:3060
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If you plan on using anything like electric drill or saw back there, you will need a larger invertor than the one that is fastened to the bottom of the front passenger seat, right under the seat cushion
__________________
2016 Ram 3.0 diesel 3.55 w/LSD, G2 tonneau, Line-X, Weathertech mats, Mag-Hytec differential cover, Nfab bars, CB radio, EGR bug deflector
Reply With Quote
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-2019, 03:17 PM
ramboxhemi's Avatar
ramboxhemi ramboxhemi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Missouri
Age: 55
Posts: 372
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2016 Ram 1500 Bighorn 4wd
Trim Level: BigHorn
Color: Delmonico Red
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:29
ramboxhemi is on a distinguished road
Default

The stock inverters can only work with very very low current draws. The one in my dash is 100 watts. To have one in the bed you would need battery size cables to a large inverter. The size of the cables on the 12 volt side need to be 10 times larger than on the 120 volt side. Watts=Watts. VoltsxAmps=VoltsxAmps. Raise the voltage by a factor of ten, Lower the amps by ten. Wire size is dictated by amps only.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2019, 07:14 PM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 32,520
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2016 Ram Ecodiesel 2 whl drive
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 32
Rep:3060
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If i wanted to run power tools from the receptacle in the bed or even under the hood

I would remove the stock air filter & change it to a different setup, similar to what the Rams with 2 batteries have.
I would also run a External Voltage Regulator & a good battery isolator

Then i would install a 2nd battery, what ever it would take to store enough juice to run the power tools. I would install a power inverter & a battery isolator close to it.

For wiring, i would run 4 or even 2 fine wire gauge for low resistance back to the power receptacle. ( Tin wrapped welding cable has hundreds of fine wire strands within the cable )

I would put the receptacle itself on the passenger side of the bed, because if i am running power tools, i would want to be away from the traffic side of the truck, if i have to work while parked on a street & power cords for tools is only 5 or 6 foot long. You would not want to use extension cords if you can avoid it.The longer that the cord is, the more juice is lost in those 12 gauge wires.
__________________
2016 Ram 3.0 diesel 3.55 w/LSD, G2 tonneau, Line-X, Weathertech mats, Mag-Hytec differential cover, Nfab bars, CB radio, EGR bug deflector
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2019, 02:59 PM
BigHornTony's Avatar
BigHornTony BigHornTony is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Punxsytawney, PA
Posts: 48
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2016 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Granite Crystal
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BigHornTony is on a distinguished road
Default

The lights used in the commercial were most likely LED with low draw... I am sure it does not work that good in person.
__________________
2016 Ram 1500 BigHorn
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:53 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors