DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so gonna admit now I'm not to familiar with dodges and their interchanges ..... but I'm a mechanic that does alot of custom work.....

I got a 01 Durango 4x4 slot with the 5.9l magnum motor in it .....however connecting rod bearing shattered from number 7 & 8 ....wollowed crankshaft a bit .... everything else is perfectly fine other than that....

I also just got a 02 dodge ram 1500 crew cab 4x4 sport with the 5.9l magnum in it for $800 ...however it slips extremely bad .....the only way to get it to move is in 4x4 low and roughly 3000 rpms.....

My thought is swap tranny & transfer case from Durango into the ram and Walla great running truck no issues and scrap the rest of this bs mess.....is it possible and what all would I need to bring over from Durango to do so ....

Extremely tight on funds and in the process of moving from state..... and need to move asap...like a month ago... I know dodge likes to use the sport to change things and 02 is one of those changing yrs .....so I dont know if this will even be possible....my brother is the dodge guy I was always a chevy guy ....he doesn't have time to help me figure this out ... I wanted to take my tahoe 5.7l motor and through it with the Durango tranny ....but ya to much work but would be fun as hell.
Any help is desperately needed and ty in advanced

·
Registered
57 Posts