DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello just got my self a 1998 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.2 and my 4x4 isn't working:smiledown:.....the light for the 4x4 is on but the front tires are just not working feels like its not catching? im new to having trucks as I am 16 ! so if you explain make it a bit easy for me !
thanks for the feed back !

·
Registered
127 Posts
Have you looked underneath the front of the truck to se if the front drive shaft is hooked up? If it is then it is most likely that the actuator on the front axle is sticking or is broken....

·
Registered
939 Posts
Once, on my 95, the vacuum lines got knocked-off the actuator on the axle by the snow. They can also rot and leak.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Have you looked underneath the front of the truck to se if the front drive shaft is hooked up? If it is then it is most likely that the actuator on the front axle is sticking or is broken....
I could look underneath the front of the truck but I don't know what I'm looking at can you send a picture of what I should be looking for?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Once, on my 95, the vacuum lines got knocked-off the actuator on the axle by the snow. They can also rot and leak.
I don't know what I'd be looking at if I looked underneath the truck can you send a picture or something of what I should be looking at? Or just Describe it to me?

·
Registered
127 Posts
Once I get a chance I'll take some pics and post them for you... I'm currently dealing with a snow storm so when I get some clear weather, they'll be there... sorry... (I'm so tired of the white stuff):sad:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Once I get a chance I'll take some pics and post them for you... I'm currently dealing with a snow storm so when I get some clear weather, they'll be there... sorry... (I'm so tired of the white stuff):sad:
okay sounds good !:smiley_thumbs_up:

·
Registered
796 Posts