DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!!!

I am a recent buyer of a new 2019 ram 1500; love the truck but unfortunately realized that the payload is far too low for the TT I will be purchasing.

I am looking at either the 2500 or 3500, just undecided on which motor. I know there are many, many threads on the 6.4 vs the CTD, I am hoping my question is different.

In my research on this forum and others I hear people say alot that if you are towing over 10K you should go with the diesel, but why. The tow rating of the 6.4 vs the CTD in the 2500 is within 1500lbs. The CTD costs is significant to get that extra minimal weight.

I did watch the TFL 2500 6.4 on the Ike Gauntlet towing 12,500lbs and it really struggled getting all the way down to 30 mph at full throttle.

What am I missing? I am very new to this hence the reason I didn't do my research prior to buying a new 1500 to then realize it wouldn't work :(.

Again, not trying to recreate the CTD bs 6.4 debate just trying to understand the difference knowing they have very similar tow ratings; at least in the 2500 model.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,097 Posts
Tow ratings aren't all that important in what you are looking for.
It is the engine power when you get that up to that weight.
The diesel has a lot more torque over the 6.4 - alot.
The diesel is meant to work and work hard it's entire life.

So here are the questions I would ask myself.
A. How often am I towing vs. empty?
B. What kind of terrain am I towing in?
C. Do I also need a certain payload rating - the 6.4 payload is higher than the diesel if I am not mistaken.

The diesel cost more - purchase, fuel, maint. BUT resale is higher and they last a long time.

If towing once or twice a year and mainly on low elevation flat land, I think the 6.4 would work fine and the added payload can come in handy.

If towing weekly or monthly and in the mountains, then I would consider the diesel.