DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2014 Ram 1500 2wd Lonestar edition. I have the eight speed automatic transmission. The truck just turned over 150,000 miles.The issue I’m having is the transmission is shuttering in lower gears at lower speeds. At times it almost feels like you’re driving over rumble strips while switching gears. Anybody who could help me out with this issue would be great. Thanks

·
Registered
447 Posts
I am not a transmission expert so don't have any advice. I just have a question. Have you ever changed the transmission fluid?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No. I don’t see any leakage so I wasn’t to concerned about low fluid levels but maybe I am not knowing all there is about how they work

·
Registered
447 Posts
No. I don’t see any leakage so I wasn’t to concerned about low fluid levels but maybe I am not knowing all there is about how they work
From reading on this Forum, even though Ram states the transmission fluid is lifetime, lifetime really isn't 150,000 miles. Many here state the transmission fluid should be changed every 60-75 thousand miles depending on usage (towing, stop and go traffic etc.....)

·
Registered
7 Posts
What you're feeling is the converter clutch chattering try a bottle of the black LUBEGARD® Highly Friction Modified (HFM) Automatic Transmission Supplement . This will have to be added cold with the engine running.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks I will try that. This is probably a temporary fix. But if I can maybe get a few more miles that would be great.

·
Super Moderator
34,387 Posts
Transmission fluid and filter changes are part of regular maintenance. You may want to pull the trans fill plug and check the level

·
Registered
15 Posts
I have the exact same issue but I have a 6 speed 2014 2500. I just changed the fluid and filter at 60k just to be safe. I am 500 miles into the new fluid and it will still do the shudder.