DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day gentlemen. I have a 2012 Ram 1500 with the 5.7 hemi. I need to know if i can swap a 5.7 hemi from a 2016 ram 1500 into my 2012. If not, why? Thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Sounds like its gonna be, a fun job! Let me know how it goes! I have a couple thoughts about the swap but don't know enough, to comment. Sorry!
 

·
Registered
2012 Ram 1500 ST Crew Cab | 2004 Dodge Ram 3500 SLT Quad Cab
Joined
·
29 Posts
Good day gentlemen. I have a 2012 Ram 1500 with the 5.7 hemi. I need to know if i can swap a 5.7 hemi from a 2016 ram 1500 into my 2012. If not, why? Thanks in advance!
132851
132853

The dimensions of the engine have not changed so it will fit. However, in 2013, Ram changed transmissions to the TorqueFlite 8 from the Chrysler 65RFE/545RFE transmissions. There was also a change in the gear shifter as a result of the new transmission. So on your 2012 Ram 1500 the location where the shifter would be on a 2016 Ram 1500 is the 4X4 controls. With Chrysler products, not much is impossible, but this would take you an immersive amount of work to complete. You should contact your local Dodge dealership to see if it is possible to connect a 65RFE or 545RFE transmission with a 2016 5.7L V8 HEMI.

Hope this helps,
Dave N.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
463 Posts
View attachment 132851 View attachment 132853
The dimensions of the engine have not changed so it will fit. However, in 2013, Ram changed transmissions to the TorqueFlite 8 from the Chrysler 65RFE/545RFE transmissions. There was also a change in the gear shifter as a result of the new transmission. So on your 2012 Ram 1500 the location where the shifter would be on a 2016 Ram 1500 is the 4X4 controls. With Chrysler products, not much is impossible, but this would take you an immersive amount of work to complete. You should contact your local Dodge dealership to see if it is possible to connect a 65RFE or 545RFE transmission with a 2016 5.7L V8 HEMI.

Hope this helps,
Dave N.
🤦‍♀️ 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️
He's just asking about the engine....in MOST cases, the engine and trans aren't swapped as a unit. It will bolt in just fine, just may not run correctly (if at all) due to tone wheel differences.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top