DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought i found my oil leaking problem in the spark plug tube seal. But when i took it to get my oil changed i still have some oil leaking. Anyway, i was told the 3.6L has an issue with the oil cooler leaking. Anyone have this issue? What did you replace? I am not a mechanic by any stretch but is this something i could do? Any insight would be appreciated.

·
Registered
5 Posts
same problem with my 14 RAM. I have twice now replaced the cooler with a $100 ebay (I suppose read Chinese repop) and it continues to leak after several weeks. I am at this point thinking that the problem is the poor quality of the repop but cant help but also ponder at to whether or not the mating surface in the block is warped or something as the install is straight forward in the sense that there is very few things to remove to do the replacement of the cooler. Lots of YouTube how to's out there. After several weeks of driving it looks like it fills all those little cavities in the valley area of the block and then starts leaking out the back of the block and rust proofing the chassis behind the transmission all the way to the rear bumper.
My question is this. Has anyone experienced the same situation and it is the mating surface (what else could it be) is not true and just wont seal under the factory torque recommendations which is as I recall is 90 inch pounds. I love the truck so I am going to try a OEM Mopar manufactured cooler/filter once it warms up in several months but this really has me scratching my head. I have been at this sort of thing for 50 years and this is a first.