DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, i am new to the ram forums here. I recently got a 6" suspension lift put on my 2009 Dodge Ram 1500, and, well of course i needed some big mud tires to match. So i went with the cheap route to test the waters. I got Federal Couragia m/t 35x12.50x20. I've had the tires for a little over 2 months now and the front tires are literally almost bald in the center, about 1/16" left of tread. I do drive alot, as most of my work is an hour drive each way, mostly highway. Im not sure exactly but i think ive put about 5k miles on them so far, had them rotated at 3k. It makes me sick that these things only lasted me 5k. Any advice or insight is welcome. Any tips or thoughts on why they're wearing so quickly? when i replace them, i want to get 35" tires but something that will last me a whole lot longer but hopefully still look cool. Maybe some kind of all-terrain tire? thank you!!!

·
8,036 Posts
First thing to check is your tire pressure. If they're wearing down the middle they could be over inflated. Next thing would be your front end alignment. I'm assuming it was completed after the lift install? (Because it needed to be). If so, bring it back to that shop and have them take a look at it and verify that everything is in spec. From there it could be the tires themselves however there's a number of guys running those tires and they don't wear NEAR that fast. And they shouldn't... But maybe it happens to be a bad batch.

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
Like Brandon said, air pressure or alignment. Air pressure sounds like the most likely culprit since you say they are wearing in the center. Do you know what pressure you are running them at?

For replacements, I hear good things about the wear on Pro Comp MT's. I've got about 10k on my Cooper STT Pro's and they're wearing pretty good. They're starting to wear down but no more than I was expecting from a 35" MT.

·
Registered
1,038 Posts