DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for some input before deciding on this setup. I've decided on lifting my '14 Big Horn with the 6 inch BDS and I'm on the fence about tire size. I bought my truck without doing my homework and come to find out I'm running 3.21 gears. I would really love to run 37s but I'm worried about putting strain on the transmission. I'm not against the 35s but I prefer the look of the 37s on the 6 inch lift. Will having the 8spd make this doable or is running this set up just not an option on the 3.21 gears?

·
Registered
36 Posts
I have 35's Toyo r/t's on my 1500 2014 on the same gears. I get 15 average. Is that pretty good?

·
Registered
54 Posts
I have 35 Toyo All Terrain II's with 3.21. Plenty of power. I actually like staying in 1st gear for more than 1 second.

I have no experience with 37's

·
Resident Technician
14,202 Posts
Working in a dealership has given me many opportunities to drive 1500's with various tire and gear combinations. With 37's, anything less than 3.92 gears feels anemic to me. If it were mine, I'd want 4.56's.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Having the 8spd is a huge advantage. yes, 3.21 will feel more sluggish with 37's but for reference you first gear with 3.21 and 37's and 8spd is about the same as 33's(stock) tires with 4.10 and 65rfe 6spd. With the same final gear highway cruising for 75mph is 2100rpm with 33's and 4.10/6pd, 37's and 3.21/8spd is 1460ish rpm so better highway mileage too. if you upgrade 37's with 3.55, it will pretty much be identical to 33's with 3.21 for your 8spd gearing. added weight of the tires will effect too so 3.92 rear end would also be good option but could be overkill, your preference. I would not do 4.10 or 4.56 unless you had the 6spd as you would be really searching gears anytime you accelerate, but from your original thread starter i assume you have an 8spd.

If that all makes sense!:smileup:

·
Registered
15 Posts