DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Took it to the dealership and they charged it up told me to come back the next day so they could try to find the leak so I did. It ran fine for the rest of the day. Next morning no ac. Took it to the shop and they said its leaking from the condenser behind the dash and its $1300. They didn't take the dash apart so he can they tell that's where its leaking from? I'm a truck driver and gone from home so I'm going off what my wife says. Anybody else have that problem with losing the ac charge overnight?

·
Registered
12 Posts
take it to a a/c shop if you have one in your area. At the very least you could get a second opinion and also another quote. I'd never go to a dealer for a/c problems, the overhead costs are ridiculous. Also, many places now have sniffers to help find a leak.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was gonna take it to another place once I got home. I just thought it was weird that they can tell me where it's coming from with out seeing the dash. They also didn't have that sniffer

·
Registered
1,051 Posts
Losing overnight is probably a pretty decent size leak.

What you could try is refill it yourself with one of those refill cannisters from parts store, Walmart, etc but make sure to get one with dye in the refrigerant. Fill it up, let it leak out and then get a blacklight and try to find where its leaking.

The 2 A/C leaks Ive dealt with in vehicles were both where a soft (rubber) line turns to a hard (aluminum) line. They like to leak at the crimp fittings right where they change over.

If it really is behind the dash, thats one fix Im not sure I would tackle (not because I cant do it, but because of how much work Im guessing is involved to actually get to the leak). I have fixed the lines myself, though. Lots of YouTube research, a set of manifold gauges and a Harbor Freight vac pump worked just fine and saved me a TON of $$$.

·
Registered