DODGE RAM FORUM banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I'm new at this but I need some help. I purchased a 2018 Ram 3500 dually limited longhorn. It came with the 5 aux switches on the dash but it does not have the pdc or anything under the hood for them. Also on the switch bank it has a button that is for alt trailer height that does nothing no light or any messages on the dash. The 5 aux switches at least light up but no messages on the dash. The dealer I bought the truck from said that Chrysler must have put the wrong switches in the truck.
Thanks for any help in advance.

·
Super Moderator
'18 RAM 3500 4WD Tradesman 6.4
1,393 Posts
You should be able to look up the build sheet online at the RAM site using the VIN, and that would say whether the AUX switches were originally itemized. If they are included in the build sheet then I would argue that it's FCA's responsibility, obligation even, to render them functional and provide the upfitter's wiring kit that would normally come with that option, since you bought a truck with additional options incompletely installed.

If they are not on the build sheet, you'll likely have to procure the missing parts at your own expense. You don't say if you're the first owner, but if you are it's not easy to understand how the AUX switches got installed at the factory without all the other components necessary for them to work.

·
Super Moderator
'18 RAM 3500 4WD Tradesman 6.4
1,393 Posts
Also, if the AUX switches were installed at the factory and programmed into the system, there should be a "commercial" menu item in the Settings menu, under which you should find the options for configuring the AUX switches in various ways. There will be an entry code to access the AUX switch config settings. The default access code from the factory is "0000". It is changeable, and if it has been changed, you'll need to get the dealer to reset it.