DODGE RAM FORUM banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Some Assembly Required
7,205 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before I place this order, what are the pro's and cons to each?

-I only want to level. I have no intention of lifting my Laramie any further than that as I am a disabled veteran and cannot climb in and out of anything higher than a leveled truck without serious discomfort and risk of falling.

-I will only run a 33" tire, at the most.

-Planning to run stock wheels or (if I do change wheels in the future), stock offset.

-I do not want any accelerated wear and tear on the suspension components.

Knowing these facts, which is the better route to go? If I do the daystar kit, or similar, the strut comes out and the spacer goes in, then the strut goes in. Then alignment. Does not seem that it would change the suspension geometery all that much, and as a result, seems to me it would have less wear and tear.

On the other hand, the bilsteins are easy, and cheap, and my truck has 50,000 miles anyway so its not a waste at this point to change the shocks. How much stress do they put on ball joints and tie-rods when set at 2.8"?

·
Registered
206 Posts
I would go with the bilstiens. I had mine installed about a month ago and love it. You might want to change out the UCA as I did replace mine with the Mevotechs.

Yes check out Brandon's write up every good information.

·
Registered
2020 Ram Sport, night edition
1,519 Posts
Bilstiens are the way to go. Had mine since 2010 no premature wear no wobbles and no troubles I have mine set at 1.7" just remember get a good alignment shop that understands 4x4 geometry you'll love the improved ride on gravel or rough roads. At 50,000 I'd put the back ones in too no lift there just improved ride quality

·
Registered
2015 Ram 2500 Laramie Longhorn Limited CTD
1,532 Posts
I would go with the bilstiens. I had mine installed about a month ago and love it. You might want to change out the UCA as I did replace mine with the Mevotechs.