DODGE RAM FORUM banner

21 - 40 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Looking for resolution as to why the stereo screen blacks out? Audio still functions, just can't see the screen. Updates are current according to VIN plugged into link. Is there a manager I can speak to? ?
Karen
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi Hydrasport,

Sorry to hear about this! You can try performing a soft reset of you Uconnect system:

1) Put your vehicle into the accessories mode (ACC or RUN) For keyless start (push-button) vehicles: push the start button twice without having your foot on the gas or brake pedal
2) Hold down the Phone and voice recognition buttons (or tuner and volume knob), at the same time, for thirty seconds.
3) Let go of the buttons
4) Turn vehicle off
5) Open driver’s side door for thirty seconds (or until dash illumination goes black)
6) Close door
7) Restart vehicle
8) Let the media center load up and see if concern is still present

If you end up deciding to visit your local dealership for further diagnosis I'd be happy to offer assistance if needed. Just send us a PM with your VIN and let me know.

Andrea
Ram Social Care Specialist
I did the same thing on my uconnect and nothing happened on my 2013, one minute the screen was good and then when I remote started later that day and went to the cab of the truck and the whole thing is dead, i mean nothing works at all anywhere, the only sign of life is the clock on my dash cluster which I assume is somehow related with the touch screen. Any help anyone?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Hello 3ERam,

Can you send us a direct message with your VIN? We'd like to look for any software updates and escalate to Uconnect if needed.

Jasmine
Ram Social Care Specialist
I am having the same issue with my 2015 Ram 2500 Laramie. Has anyone found a fix for this?

Lance
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Having the same issue on my 2014 1500 Longhorn ! Starting to happen more often. Checked and I’m up to date on software. Did a soft reset the last time it was working. Now it’s out again and hasn’t came back on. I think dodge should just replace it for us, seems like a lot of issues!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
2013 Ram 2500 with same issue as all the others above. Have tried several hard resets with every combination of dash/steering wheel buttons, battery cables disconnected and zip tied together for 12 hrs. No luck, screen remains blank. Occasionally get the ram logo and sirius radio emblem...no sound, black screen, Found the radio fuse (in the harness just under the fuse panel...still has continuity). Am I off to the stealership?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
2014 Ram 1500 Laramie, same issue. I turn my truck on and every now and then the radio radio, phone, climate control or back up screen all fail to turn on. occurs randomly since the last up system update about a month ago. Took it to the dealer for separate recall and all they did was charge me for looking at it. they couldn't back out the last update and said I was up to date. since taking it to the dealer a week ago it has happened 3 times. Sporadically I get warning screen that my uconnect phone needs updating, please contact your dealer. (...the dealer could not recreate this error or see anything wrong.) . please help :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
sorry.....i had dealer verify my issue ( dead radio) bur shopped around the province for the radio....definitely different prices per dealer....had to drive south anyway, radio dealer installed with 2 year warranty $1150. There are after market otions with 10.5" screen, but I do like the Ram options on mine. and I believe a dealer code is required, say if you purchased radio from auto wrecker...code may be tough to get, but I could be wrong.Good luck
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
2014 Ram 1500 Laramie, same issue. I turn my truck on and every now and then the radio radio, phone, climate control or back up screen all fail to turn on. occurs randomly since the last up system update about a month ago. Took it to the dealer for separate recall and all they did was charge me for looking at it. they couldn't back out the last update and said I was up to date. since taking it to the dealer a week ago it has happened 3 times. Sporadically I get warning screen that my uconnect phone needs updating, please contact your dealer. (...the dealer could not recreate this error or see anything wrong.) . please help :)
I’m having same issue on my 2014. Took it to the dealer and they charged me to look at it. Seen the codes saying lost connection with radio. Said I had to get a new radio. Didn’t get new radio yet. Has worked for the most part , seems like when I hit bumps it goes off or comes back on?????
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Hi Hydrasport,

We're sorry to hear that you're experiencing this. I do not see any current software updates that directly addresses this concern. With that said, I would like to help you get this inspected by your dealer. If you would like additional assistance with this, please send us a private message.

Lydia
Ram Social Care Specialist
Hi Lydia, has there been any advancements on this topic?? My 2014 Longhorn is doing this all the time. I surely don’t want to spend $1200. On a new radio. My name is Kerry Schafer. [email protected]
Thank you
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I’m having same issue on my 2014. Took it to the dealer and they charged me to look at it. Seen the codes saying lost connection with radio. Said I had to get a new radio. Didn’t get new radio yet. Has worked for the most part , seems like when I hit bumps it goes off or comes back on?????
Having same issue with my 2014 Durango that radio, nav system, back up camera, etc all fail to come on at start up. Car at dealer today and they just said needs a new radio. Said radio controls all the buttons on panel. If/when it finally comes on the fan is on high and the temp on driver and passenger has jumped up to 75 degrees. Is this really a radio problem?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi Hydrasport,

Sorry to hear about this! You can try performing a soft reset of you Uconnect system:

1) Put your vehicle into the accessories mode (ACC or RUN) For keyless start (push-button) vehicles: push the start button twice without having your foot on the gas or brake pedal
2) Hold down the Phone and voice recognition buttons (or tuner and volume knob), at the same time, for thirty seconds.
3) Let go of the buttons
4) Turn vehicle off
5) Open driver’s side door for thirty seconds (or until dash illumination goes black)
6) Close door
7) Restart vehicle
8) Let the media center load up and see if concern is still present

If you end up deciding to visit your local dealership for further diagnosis I'd be happy to offer assistance if needed. Just send us a PM with your VIN and let me know.

Andrea
Ram Social Care Specialist
Thanks for the info, mine is a new Ram 1500 only 2800km and I did the soft reset like to said and worked hopefully it won't happen again or if it does soon so it's under warranty lol...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
I have a 2017 ram 1500 4 days ago my screen went black and freezes on the ram sirius xm screen. Went to the dealership paid $121 for them to tell me I need a new radio. Uconnect said my truck was up to date. Nothing works no music at all, bluetooth doesn't work either. I was told there was a recent update. Any idea how to fix or what is happening?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,003 Posts
I have a 2017 ram 1500 4 days ago my screen went black and freezes on the ram sirius xm screen. Went to the dealership paid $121 for them to tell me I need a new radio. Uconnect said my truck was up to date. Nothing works no music at all, bluetooth doesn't work either. I was told there was a recent update. Any idea how to fix or what is happening?
Hi,

I would recommend trying a soft reset of you Uconnect system:

1) Put your vehicle into the accessories mode (ACC or RUN) For keyless start (push-button) vehicles: push the start button twice without having your foot on the gas or brake pedal
2) Hold down the Phone and voice recognition buttons (or tuner and volume knob), at the same time, for thirty seconds.
3) Let go of the buttons
4) Turn vehicle off
5) Open driver’s side door for thirty seconds (or until dash illumination goes black)
6) Close door
7) Restart vehicle
8) Let the media center load up and see if concern is still present

Please let me know if this works. If not, I would be happy to get a case open for you.

Alison
RamCares
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Same issue as Tmaly

I have a 2017 ram 1500 Laramie longhorn. This morning the screen got stuck on the Ram/SiriusXM screen while I drove to work. When I got to work I restarted the vehicle and that same screen came on for about 5 seconds and then went black. Music won’t play, radio won’t connect Bluetooth to my phone. But the backup camera works when I go in to reverse.

I have tried the soft resets suggested in the thread. I downloaded the update on a flash drive but it won’t show on the screen so I am unable to update it.

What can I do next besides spending a ton of additional money on this truck?

thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Hi,

I would recommend trying a soft reset of you Uconnect system:

1) Put your vehicle into the accessories mode (ACC or RUN) For keyless start (push-button) vehicles: push the start button twice without having your foot on the gas or brake pedal
2) Hold down the Phone and voice recognition buttons (or tuner and volume knob), at the same time, for thirty seconds.
3) Let go of the buttons
4) Turn vehicle off
5) Open driver’s side door for thirty seconds (or until dash illumination goes black)
6) Close door
7) Restart vehicle
8) Let the media center load up and see if concern is still present

Please let me know if this works. If not, I would be happy to get a case open for you.

Alison
RamCares
Hi,

I would recommend trying a soft reset of you Uconnect system:

1) Put your vehicle into the accessories mode (ACC or RUN) For keyless start (push-button) vehicles: push the start button twice without having your foot on the gas or brake pedal
2) Hold down the Phone and voice recognition buttons (or tuner and volume knob), at the same time, for thirty seconds.
3) Let go of the buttons
4) Turn vehicle off
5) Open driver’s side door for thirty seconds (or until dash illumination goes black)
6) Close door
7) Restart vehicle
8) Let the media center load up and see if concern is still present

Please let me know if this works. If not, I would be happy to get a case open for you.

Alison
RamCares
I got up this morning to a dead battery and nothing was left on. I did notice that the dash lights were coming on and turning off in the truck Friday, I was standing outside the vehicle while this happened. Could the radio be continuously trying to get this update to go through? Getting a new battery for the truck at the moment.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
I got up this morning to a dead battery and nothing was left on. I did notice that the dash lights were coming on and turning off in the truck Friday, I was standing outside the vehicle while this happened. Could the radio be continuously trying to get this update to go through? Getting a new battery for the truck at the moment.
Installed new battery and did the reset. Same issue as before and my dash lights still keep going on and off.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Installed new battery and did the reset. Same issue as before and my dash lights still keep going on and off.
I couldn't attach the video but the dash lights would come on for 10secs, go off for 10 secs, and repeat. I disconnected my new battery so it wouldnt get drained.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Still didn't work for me. It's frozen and the dealership says they cant fix it. However, the radio was the cause of my dash cluster lights constantly turning on. Disconnected the radio and the lights have stopped.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Still didn't work for me. It's frozen and the dealership says they cant fix it. However, the radio was the cause of my dash cluster lights constantly turning on. Disconnected the radio and the lights have stopped.
Any new luck? I am having the blank screen. I have notice that my GPS is off it shows me in Toronto Canada and I live in Vermont. Any updates?
 
21 - 40 of 53 Posts
Top