DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all I want to buy a cabin cruiser like the bayliner 2855 (2000 plus year) online says it has a weight of 6400 lbs. but I am new to towing and don’t want to buy too much boat for my truck. I have a 2017 Ram 1500 bighorn with tow package rear wheel drive anti slip 3.21 8 speed hp70 transmission tow rating of 8070 see pic for my set up. So how much boat can I buy to safely tow around town in Tennessee where there is terrain, hills and stuff not off road just normal road up and down type.( Also if you know of a good cabin cruiser boat I am open to suggestions) Thank you

Attachments

·
Premium Member
183 Posts
Be careful about the boat weights posted on-line. Those are usually dry weights (tanks empty and no gear). With a cabin cruiser, you will probably have a freshwater tank along with a large fuel tank. You could easily add another 1,000 lbs with the tanks full and gear stored on the boat.

·
Banned
3,844 Posts
This^^
You'll need to combine the dry weight with the total liquid load (fuel tank(s), water tank, sewage if applicable) and all the gear/equipment that will normally be carried aboard. 28' cruiser is pushing it for a half ton, even one as capable. If it was a sport boat that'd be different, but this thing has some height to go with it's girth. I looked up a 2004 just for fun. 100gal fuel tank x 6 lbs/gal = 600lbs right off the bat. 30gal water tank x 8lbs/gal = 240lbs. 20gal holding tank; effluent is generally listed at 9 lbs/gal to cover all bases with fluid and solids. So 20gal x 9 lbs/gal = 180lbs. that gives you half a ton (1020lbs) in just full liquid load. Going with your 6400lb dry weight (the one I looked up was at 6510lbs) that puts us at 7420lbs. With your 8070lb tow capacity that leaves you with 650lbs to use until you're at max.

·
Registered
3,097 Posts