DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Reading the forum is seems like a catch can is cheap engine protection. I see some with an air filter on top. Is this better, not necessary but ok, or bad. I am new to this stuff. Others have posted that the "better" ones have an internal baffle, but I can't find any mention of the filter on top. Thanks

·
Registered
231 Posts
I've been wondering the same thing. Don't know that I have an answer but found this in a write up on catch cans on ebay - course I have no idea how authoritative the writer is...

Breather style Vs. Sealed
Not all cars have been designed the same. Weather high performance, daily driver, off road, motorcycle, or combination, there is a PROPER catch can to benefit your vehicle. How do you know what type is best? First you have to determine what the vehicle will mainly be used for.
Is your vehicle high performance? Do you race or drive it like you stole it? Then you would probably benefit more from a Breather Style. This style vents the blow-by gasses to the atmosphere while catching the sludge in its resivoir. It may not be legal to run this type in some states for emissions control purposes. Allowing the crankcase to vent freely will prevent unwanted drag on the internal engine components. This frees up the pressure being created and all the other benefits of the sludge being separated from the fuel. Honda, Nissan and the like are most common to use a breather style.