DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, I’m new to the truck, a 2014 Ram 3500 DRW, which just turned 50k kms, and diesels so please forgive any stupid questions.

I keep the truck on a battery tender as I do not, or try not to, use it as a daily driver during these Canadian cold months.

When I went to start it yesterday, the DEF gauge did not move to full, as usual, even though I just had filled it the weeks before with fresh DEF and all was fine on my last trip. I got the °Fill DEF Soon° message but I could see that the gauge kept creeping up as the truck got warmer until it went to half full. This took a good 5 minutes. Turned the truck off and then on and then all seemed normal. I did not have the engine block heater on for a long enough period, maybe 15 minutes, so not sure if that caused this that has never happened before.

So is this what to expect on cold weather starts or am I seeing the signs of worse things to come with either a bad DEF system or other areas that will need attention? By the way, I normally start the engine then place it on fast idle until oil temp is above 15 degrees celsius (what is that in F?), before driving it.

Thank you for any advice and suggestions.

·
Registered
1,640 Posts
Could it have been the DEF was frozen and therefore the gauge did not read it properly due to that? Once it started to thaw it may have started to read the DEF level. Remember the DEF gauge is not like a fuel tank gauge that moves up and down with the level of fuel or in this case DEF, the DEF gauge is just a long stick that does not go to the top of the DEF tank, that is why the DEF gauge will read full for so long. As the DEF is used the stick becomes exposed to air and the gauge starts to show the DEF use.

Remember the DEF pump has its own heater to thaw the DEF in the DEF tank.

This is simplified explanation of the DEF tank and Gauge.

15 Degrees Celsius is 59 Degrees Fahrenheit.

·
Registered