DODGE RAM FORUM banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy,

I'm new to RAM. My previous vehicle had programmers on the forums who could code vehicles to remove restrictions like no DVD playback while driving, standard safety messages at startup, etc.

Here's my issue, while driving my passenger cannot use the keyboard to type in an address. We had to pull off the road and stop before the address could be entered. Is there any way to keep the keyboard from being disabled? I have the Uconnect 8.4N.

Thanks for your help!

Reactions: RamaLew

·
Registered
585 Posts
Howdy,

I'm new to RAM. My previous vehicle had programmers on the forums who could code vehicles to remove restrictions like no DVD playback while driving, standard safety messages at startup, etc.

Here's my issue, while driving my passenger cannot use the keyboard to type in an address. We had to pull off the road and stop before the address could be entered. Is there any way to keep the keyboard from being disabled? I have the Uconnect 8.4N.

Thanks for your help!
Can't you just hit the VR button on the steering wheel and "speak" the address?

·
Registered
376 Posts
My 2011 Ram had to be bypassed by using Nav-TV. It was a plug and play module hooked in behind the screen. The vendor is registered here. I would suggest them.

It unlocked DVD in motion for mine and we wired the backup camera into the screen as well.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Gps

To the original poster......you are absolutely correct.....I just finished a 4000 mile trip all over eastern Canada with my wife right beside me and she could not type anything but basic auto search. I did try the rv buttons on several occasions but between the thing thinking i was always in the states and not recognizing the word " PROVINCE" on most occasions I got completely fed up. I know why the safety feature is there but the weight sensor in the passenger seat should disable it...

·
Registered
31 Posts