DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm looking at Bidirectional Diagnostic Scanners. I'm not a professional mechanic, but I do whatever I'm able to do. I guess you can classify me as a "Enthusiastic DIY'er". My budget this time is around $250. I'm not looking for a pro grade Snap On or anything like that for thousands of dollars. There are some pretty attractive hand held ones out there. And I guess I should also mention I don't want a bluetooth type reader. Does anyone have experience with these type things? I'm kinda split between the Innova 5610 and the Launch CRP479. And it's not just for my Ram 2500. I also have a GMC Yukon and a 2nd Gen RAM 1500.

·
Registered
863 Posts
We use an Autel scan tool at the college I work at. WE had a windows based Snap Off but it bit the dust a couple years back, The Autel has a android system and they make them in a wide price range. Depends on how many features you want.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, I see Autel is in the top 3 of tools if not no 1. Depends on what you read. I was liking the looks of the Innova tool but I just learned it has this "Solutions" app you need to run with it and it requires a yearly subscription. So that one's out. I don't want to have to buy any additional things other than the tool. I just want the most bidirectional diagnostic tool for my budget. So now I'm back to looking at Foxwell NT650. Live data scan, abs bleeding, some bidirectional valve and circuit functions, as well as all the standard code reading, clearing or reset function. Launch CRP479 is still a contender too. Like I said, I don't run a repair facility, I just want to work on my family's vehicles and save money. Not like I'll use it daily.

·
Registered
863 Posts
One of my student just picked up an autel that is able to do most operations for around 500. I think they still have one a little cheaper.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #5