DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I was trying to install my Radar Detector by hard wiring it to the Auto Dimming Mirror Harness. I have done it on 3 prior vehicles, using the J28.com wiring kit, but I think I may have jacked something up.
I am an electrical novice, but have a voltmeter. I already had the ground wire/pin installed and was attempting to install the 12v (with assesories/run feed only) pin in the back of the harness - when the two of them touched. There was a small puff of smoke (I had the dumb key in the "on" position!) and now I can't get power via that wire. I checked the remaining wires in the harness and they seem to funtion. I checked the fuse (90% sure I checked the right one) and it seemed fine.
I pulled everything back out and still have the harness just hanging from the front of the headliner.
Any ideas? Could i have "fried" just that one line without damaging the others or throwing the fuse? If so, what now?

I'm new here - just got the truck a couple of weeks ago. I appreciate the help/feedback and hope that someone with more knowledge/experience can give me some tips.

·
Registered
972 Posts
Well you say you have a VOM meter. I would check the fuses with the meter to see if the fuse is blown. Sometimes just eye-balling the fuse you can mess up. Make sure you check the correct fuse (fuses).

I don't know how many circuits are in the mirror and if any go to a computer, 8.4 radio or TIPM module.

Making a dead short can cause real problems and could even damage the radio if you have a 8.4a radio. The radio controls the dimming mirror on-off function.

You need to check more.

Greg

·
Registered
17,496 Posts