DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Strange thing happened Saturday while turning through an intersection. Truck seemed to die or lose power when I noticed the ETC warning light come on. I lifted off the accelerator, only to find in a second or two I had power again.

It's been two days, and a hundred miles or so with no sign of this again. Anyone had experience with their truck dying or losing power like this, and getting this red ETC bolt symbol pop up?

10k miles on this truck, and previous 10k have been flawless until this little electronic gremlin surfaced. :4-dontknow:

Attachments

·
Addicted to the Z
15,440 Posts
Well you got the "electronic gremlin" part spot on. :str: I'm no expert on this particular system however I do alot of control related coding. The pedal you are pressing to go is not physically connected to the throttle. There is a computer and software in between. I expect the power loss was the systems fail-safe response to a loss of signal from the pedal (your input). Displaying the fault on the dash is the systems way of telling you that something is not quite right. I would definitely have the pedal actuator checked by the dealer since you still have warranty. Without running some diagnostics there is no way to tell if it was a glitch or if there is actually some hardware fault somewhere. :4-dontknow:

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #3