DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to Ram. Always had Chevy's. Just picked it up today so I haven't really had a chance to drive it much but I really like how it looks.

I am a ham radio operator and want to put a radio in the truck. At full power they draw about 22 AMPS. I need to make a connection direct to the battery. What is the best way to get the wire through the firewall.

Look forward to learning a lot from this forum.

·
Registered
125 Posts
ive done a few firewall holes myself. there should be a black plastic kind of square oval i think tucked up under the steering wheel, it should be visible in the engine bay also. basically drill a hole the size you need, then silicone it so the noise and fumes or cold/hot stay where they should etc. hope this helps

·
Premium Member
32,782 Posts
Most of your heater & other things are on the passenger side
I would run your wire from the battery down to the lower firewall area, look for a rubber with a dimple in it, i think its just under the steering column.
The dimple is there just for a wire to pass through, easy to seal up.
Then run your wire under the carpet to where you want to put the radio, run a in line fuse of course, somewhere handy

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for all the replies.

I have a real stupid newbie question about the radi. I have a single cd radio. I was told it was a step above the base unti. When I have it in XM the display shows the channel and title of the station but not the clock. Can I get it to show both? I looked in the user guide and the dvd manual and didn't see anything.

·
Registered
2,713 Posts
Thanks for all the replies.