DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm a newbie here. Took my 09 Hemi in to a local mechanic for an oil change, and they "strongly recommended" cleaning my fuel injectors. Checked the owners manual/maintenance schedule, and don't see anything about servicing fuel injectors. I've got around 22k on my baby, and I wanna take care of him. Any suggestions? Worthwhile expense, or waste of money? :4-dontknow:

Thanks!!!!

·
Administrator
2008 RAM 1500 ST 3.7L Magnum V6 PS2
53,800 Posts
First, welcome to the forum! Next, and this is just my opinion, but all they're going to do is something you can do yourself and charge you for it, run a bottle of fuel injector cleaner in it, but I have almost 29K on my truck and have not done this, nor is it recommended in my owner's manual, either. Like I said, this is just one person's opinion and I'm sure others on here will add their advice/recommendations, but I don't see where that would be necessary. When you get a chance, be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Newbie Checkin and get your official Ram Z welcome! :)

- Cajun

·
Resident Technician
14,202 Posts
I'm sure their strong reccomendation is largely profit driven. I would get a good fuel system treatment such as STP and add it to your tank. If you're mechanically inclined, you can do your own throttle body cleaning.

·
Registered
151 Posts
It has always been my understanding that most gasoline formulations will clean the injectors on their own. The only time they would have to be serviced/cleaned would be due to contamination or failure. I've never used any "cleaners" in any vehicle I've owned and never had a problem.

·
Registered
7,181 Posts