DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title states,

has anyone found the fix/repair/solution? I see countless threads of people discussing that the sensor is in the latch (2010+) but nobody ever discusses how they resolved the issue. Anyone?:i_rolleyes:

I bought my truck 2 days ago, so far its amazing, But I would love to use the remote start as the Canadian winter this year is :doh:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Did you install the kit yourself, or did it come on your vehicle from the factory, or did a dealer install it?

Like noclass said, there is a replacement hood latch with a built-in switch and wiring in the kit that gets wired back to the TIPM. (My truck was actually pre-wired, so all I had to do was install the new latch and plug in the connector).

Jake
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
my truck has factory remote start, but it hasnt worked since I purchased it. Is there a link to the latch. I think i may just need to install a new latch.

thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
708 Posts
Didnt know of any issue. Mine came on my 2013. I know if I open the hood durring the remote start the truck shuts down.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
121 Posts
As the title states,

has anyone found the fix/repair/solution? I see countless threads of people discussing that the sensor is in the latch (2010+) but nobody ever discusses how they resolved the issue. Anyone?:i_rolleyes:

I bought my truck 2 days ago, so far its amazing, But I would love to use the remote start as the Canadian winter this year is :doh:
Pretty sure it's just one more built in safety feature. Not sure why you can't use the remote start as is...simply ensure the hood is properly latched.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
83 Posts
When I picked up my 09 had the same problem. On mine there is a hood pin to press the pin down. Took 2 dealers to figure out what that plastic piece was called. Finally got it popped it right in. Started right up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
still havent found a solution. :4-dontknow: The stupid hood ajar sensor is within the Latch NOT a plunger like 2009 models.

Any way to bypass or fix?
 

·
Premium Member
2013 RAM Laramie Crew Cab
Joined
·
3,386 Posts
still havent found a solution. :4-dontknow: The stupid hood ajar sensor is within the Latch NOT a plunger like 2009 models.

Any way to bypass or fix?
Just as a way to test if that is the problem. Unplug the wire to the latch and jump it with a piece of wire see if it starts. If it is then replace the latch.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
320 Posts
What are you guys talking about? Are you trying to remote start with the hood up?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
228 Posts
If you don't want to replace the latch kit you can bypass it.

All you need to do is figure out if it is a normally open or normally closed switch. To do this just unplug it and try the remote start. If it starts then you're good to go. I would add some dielectric grease to the contacts and then heat shrink wrap the whole thing to protect it. Also wire tie it to the latch to keep it from rubbing against anything.

If it does not then install a jumper wire in the plug and try it again . If it is a NC switch * then you should find two correctly sized male spade lugs (un-insulated) and solder in a inch and half wire (same gauge as the current wires) add some dielectric grease to the contacts and then heat shrink wrap the whole thing and wire tie it to the latch.

* Note: do not just cut and twist the wires together as if you ever do need to replace the switch you can then remove the shrink wrap and jumper wire and attach them to the new latch.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
32,659 Posts
Have you tried to just adjust the latch itself, to see if that works ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
As the title states,

has anyone found the fix/repair/solution? I see countless threads of people discussing that the sensor is in the latch (2010+) but nobody ever discusses how they resolved the issue. Anyone?:i_rolleyes:

I bought my truck 2 days ago, so far its amazing, But I would love to use the remote start as the Canadian winter this year is :doh:
For me, it turned out to be a missing (it had fallen off) hood bumper*(rubber bumper mounted on the drivers side, front, bottom/underside of hood) which, when hood is closed, depresses the hood ajar sensor switch. For 2009, the for the bumper is 55276851AA (~$7 part). If this part is still in place, I would strongly suspect the switch itself (~$18).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I tried disconnecting my harness to the switch, and it will not remote start. I also tried jumping it, and it still will not work. I do get the error on the dash - "Remote start aborted-hood ajar" This really sucks. Is there a fuse, or another place to look? Is the switch somehow grounded? The switch alone, is not available, except as a full hood latch assembly. If anyone has the part #, maybe I will buy it, but not sure if that will solve my problem, HELP!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
do you recall what the part was called. I have my dealer looking for it and they cant find it. as a quick fix I just put a golf ball in the opening on the plastic. it works but I would like a legit fix
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I replaced the entire hood latch assembly with the switch as an integral part of it. Worked like a charm, and an easy repair, just four nuts.

The switch is a 'smart switch' - it CAN NOT be jumped, or unhooked.
It has some sort of integrated circuit inside, and send the Ram computer module a code, that it is open or closed. That is why it can't be hacked.

Also -shop around, I found a cheaper price online for the part, and my local Dodge dealer matched it.
 
1 - 20 of 34 Posts
Top