DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
611 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have the Alpine system with the sub. I'd like to upgrade to a aftermarket nav unit but I've read the sub won't work in my truck after. Is this correct? I was thinking of just buying a RER but from what i've seen the nav sucks in these units. I'd love peoples opinion on that if you have one. I'm a fairly good at wiring but I have little experience with car audio. What all will I need? Here's what I think I need.

Head unit
Steering wheel control adapter
wiring harness
faceplate adapter

Sound about right?

·
Registered
258 Posts
I was thinking of just buying a RER but from what i've seen the nav sucks in these units.
And what exactly is it that you've seen that would warrant a statement like the nav sucks?

I have the RER head unit and it is by far and away the best head unit i've ever owned, Aftermarket or otherwise. The Nav is Garmin based make by Garmin, maps provided by NavTeq. I've driven across country and back and the Nav is awesome to say the least, just like the rest of the head unit.

I owned a Garmin prior to my Ram and there was no difference in terms of the Nav itself from what I purchased aftermarket and what our Nav's are. If there is a "downside" it's that you can't use most of the nav functions or type in a place while in motion. But there is an allgig adapter or lockpicks that take care of that problem. I wouldn't take my head unit out and trade it for an aftermarket head unit if someone paid me.

·
Registered
611 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I thought only the 11's and 12's were Garmin .. maybe I'm better off to just get a rer?

·
Registered
258 Posts
I thought only the 11's and 12's were Garmin .. maybe I'm better off to just get a rer?