DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, im new to RamForumz and i know its bad taste for my first post to be asking for help but im currently stuck up $hit creek and seem to have misplaced my paddle. so any assistance would be greatly appreciated

to start let me explain the situation. i have a 1994 dodge ram 5.9L 4x4

i was driving down the road and it started to make a nasty ticking sound whenever i was hitting the gas and then it started spewing white smoke out the exhaust and died running down the road. after about 30 minutes of letting it cool down i got it started back up again and got it back on base (im military) i came to the conclusion that the water pump was bad and replaced it. i put in a new tensioner pulley, new water pump, completely flushed the radiator and coolant lines, put on a new serpentine belt, and new spark plugs. now before i started this project the truck would run but ran rough.

after i replaced all the parts listed above i could no longer get the truck to start. when i turn the key the motor turns over and there is a prominent smell of fuel however there is NO spark

i made sure of this by pulling out a spark plug and putting it in the wire and having a friend hold the tip while i turned the key and there was NO spark. so i installed a new rotor, new plug wires, new ignition coil and still nothing

next step i picked up a volt meter.. my battery was fine but there was not power getting to the ignition coil. checked the fuse box for the ignition and ignition acc and both are getting power.

the only thing left that i can think of is there has to be bad, pinched, or shorted wire somewhere between the fuse box-the ignition-and the ignition coil

does anyone have any idea what could be wrong??

any help would be greatly appreciated

·
Banned
7,866 Posts