DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

Total newbie here, so I will say thank you in advance. I just bought a 2017 Ram 2500 mega cab diesel 4x4. I am planning to add the leveling kit.

I am a bit confused by the offsets. I do know what an offset is and what it means, but I can not figure out what is going to get me to my goal.

I currently have the sport kit with the black 20" wheels. I am looking for a more aggressive stance. The goal is to have the wheels and tires flush with the fender flares, or just very slightly out. I do have the small factory fender flares.

I was looking at the wheels and studying pics. Some of the trucks have a -24mm offset and they stick out a lot, others state a -24mm offset and they are flush...I am not sure why they differ.

I am looking at the Nitto Ridge Grappler, 35/12.5x20. I also like the XD 822 Monster, they have a -24 offset.

Any advice?

·
Registered
'18 RAM 3500 4WD Tradesman 6.4
1,279 Posts
According to wheelsize.com, the OEM 20" wheels on a 2017 2500 with the CTD are;
8J 20 ET55
So that's an 8" wide rim with a +55 offset.
Is that what you have currently?

Going to a -24mm offset would bring each wheel out by 79mm, which is 3.11".
That's assuming an 8" wide rim, which would be unlikely in an aftermarket rim.
If you go to an 8.5" rim (staying with -24 offset) you'd get an additional 0.25" of outset on each wheel.
With a 9"rim you'd get an additional 0.5" of outset, and so on.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi 9thousandfeet,