DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 2005 SLT 4 door Ram with the 5.7 Hemi. Its 4X4 with a towing package and oversized HD axels specially ordered. The truck has 75,000 Kms on it.
I am new to technical Vehicle modifications. I am a motorcycle man at heart so I know this is going to be difficult.

So I have a few questions on what I planned to do and I'm asking advice on if I should do it and what I shouldn't do on the Ram or what I should try. I'm looking for the most money efficient way but not the cheap-O way.

- First- I had originally planned to do a cat-back Magna flow system on my Ram, because the exhaust had to be replaced already. I wanted to go with 3" pipe all the way back. But now I'm thinking about doing a custom dual exhaust with crossovers and Magna flow mufflers. I'm not sure what to do here.

- Second- I was thinking about an ECU, Bully Dog chip for the truck. I haven't done much research yet on chips but some say they are a waste of money while others say they are great. Obviously Ebay chips don't work but what about ,Bully Dog?

-Third- I had a real Fiberglass Rumble Bee scoop installed on the truck and sealed. I had planned on a Ram-Air kit but now I see that Cold air/ ram air is totally useless on newer EFI vehicles. And does nothing but cause a whistling noise and makes your computer try and compensate for change in the air being sucked in. Would this Ram-Air kit work togeter with a larger throttle body and the ECU installed ?

-Fourth- Nothing final but I should mention it incase my other mods mentioned are a waste. I was looking at purchasing a Cam for the 5.7 but not sure what to do there either. I was warned that the Hemi's do not like cams?