·
Registered
874 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How long do these hemi engines last for? I know the ol 318 will run over 500k

·
Registered
698 Posts
500K? I'd find it amazing to see valves and seats go that long without service on any conventional engine.

·
Registered
874 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yep 86 318 out of a fifth avenue had 380k on it and I swapped it in my dads old ramcharger and he's been driving it for 5 years there well over 500kms on it only thing done was a timing chain at 220k these 318 are known for there longevity.. Just curious if this hemi is gonna be a right off after 200k or will this thing last like the old trucks? Things ain't built like they were..

·
Resident Technician
14,202 Posts
You must have a really good 5.2 then, because after 18 years as a technician, I have only seen a handful of them with over 200k miles (320k km) on the odometer and most of those were in need of freshening up.

·
Registered
874 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Maybe it is a miracle engine lol.. It's leaks and burns oil like a bitch but it always starts and always drives. Trust me its not a brand new motor the thing needs help but just to have that many km's on it and it still runs and drives is crazy

·
REVEL PERFORMANCE
9,569 Posts
if its never had a rebuild that is pretty amazing :) the most i have seen out of any of my dodge trucks was about 120k and that was in a dakota i had a long time ago, it was still going strong i just traded in im sure it got another 50-100k out of it.

Jeremiah
Discount Auto Performance

·
Banned
3,844 Posts
318's usually outlast the bodies they're put in. I have pesonally seen them over 200K (in miles) so it wouldn't surprise me if it was taken care of. I firmly believe by 300K you'll probably be sucking down as much oil as fuel though...

·
Registered
295 Posts