DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to get my truck in 13s and of course they don't have a tuner for our 11 and 12s yet so what else can I do to get it there. I have 3.92 gears and the new 6 speed and a k&n cai that's it so far. What else can I do or do I have to wait till Im a old man to get a tuner to help that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
59 Posts
Got put some decals on your windows man! that always helps haha. Id do bolt ons u till the tuners come out. Basicaly change the intake and exhaust. Deoending what you looking to spend get some headers. Possibly a throttle body spacer. Every little bit helps
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,034 Posts
I hate to bust ur bubble but you don't have the new 6 speed. It's the exact same tranny that I have in my 09 but with a reprogramed tcm. The only new tranny is the 66rfe found in the 2500 hd hemi...Chrys deceived you and everyone else with lies and false advertisements.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Really that sucks but how is our tranny is it built for more power without blowing up or does it have to be built up to
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
160 Posts
I've run 14.3s (altitude corrected 14.2s) with my 2011, no tuner, stock exhaust, stock intake, 3.55 gears. Only mods were lighter 17s on front, Sonnax line pressure booster and Moroso catch can. I have since put 17s on back (had to get speedo calibrator to keep from hitting top speed govenor before end of the 1/4 mile), 180 t-stat and removed to clutch fan. I am going to MIR this weekend (weather permitting) and am expecting to it run uncorrected 13.9s. With your 3.92 gears, you should be able to do it without the 17s.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,034 Posts
Really that sucks but how is our tranny is it built for more power without blowing up or does it have to be built up to
I would say these things are good for 450hp with the exception of the crappy solenoid packs. Better hope urs goes out under warranty unless u can fix them urself. Less the hp sucking gear ratios they aren't all that bad of a transmission.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
So it really isn't that hard to get into 13s then well that's good news
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I've also been seeing that guys have put 2010 Ecu in there 2011 to get more options with power adders can I do that with my 12 or am I screwed because of the so called fake 6 speed
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
160 Posts
So it really isn't that hard to get into 13s then well that's good news
No, in fact R/Ts do it easily and "v8440" has a non-R/T 4th gen RCSBs that he claims is bone stock (3.92s, LSD, factory 17s) and runs 13.7s but I think he somehow scored a factory ringer, like the old Pontiac Firebird 400s from the late 60s that actually had 428 cid motors.
:leghump:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
160 Posts
I've also been seeing that guys have put 2010 Ecu in there 2011 to get more options with power adders can I do that with my 12 or am I screwed because of the so called fake 6 speed
Your trans is a 6 speed, but it wasn't originally intended to be one. The previous version was called a 5 speed, but had 2 different 2nd gears.

1st 3.00:1
2nd 1.67:1
2nd Prime 1.50:1
3rd 1.00:1
4th 0.75:1
5th 0.67:1

The whole 2nd Prime gear came about simply as a taller passing gear to avoid downshifting all the way down to the 1.67 gear when you stomp on it on the highway. As you would likely be in an overdriven gear at the time, jumping all the way down into the traditional 2nd gear causes rpms to skyrocket.

2nd Prime was not originally intended as an upshift gear, but people figured out how to access it (mostly for drag racing) so it just morphed into one. For 2012 the engineers put it in the upshift sequence, so yes it is a 6 speed (some call it a marketing ploy) but the gear spacing is goofy. I don't know for sure, but would expect the 2010 ECU would work, it would just switch your shift sequence to eliminate using 2nd Prime during a natural upshift.

If tuners aren't out by the time the warranty expires I might consider it, but until then, the factory installed ECU stays.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Well I got a app on my iPhone called Dynolisious and it has some really good reviews so I decided to go on a back road and try it out and it gave me a 2.56 60ft and a 14.08 quarter mile and I only have a cai does this sound about right
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Well I got a app on my iPhone called Dynolisious and it has some really good reviews so I decided to go on a back road and try it out and it gave me a 2.56 60ft and a 14.08 quarter mile and I only have a cai does this sound about right

Sounds really mis-matched to me.

Don't make any bets, before you get that truck to the track.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
I wouldn't be making any bets till I can atleast get more mods on the truck. Like a programmer... "hint dodge" and other supporting mods like headers muffler and maybe if a tuner comes out a supercharger. Hurry up dodge just give up the codes already I'm getting cooky0.o
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Your trans is a 6 speed, but it wasn't originally intended to be one. The previous version was called a 5 speed, but had 2 different 2nd gears.

1st 3.00:1
2nd 1.67:1
2nd Prime 1.50:1
3rd 1.00:1
4th 0.75:1
5th 0.67:1

The whole 2nd Prime gear came about simply as a taller passing gear to avoid downshifting all the way down to the 1.67 gear when you stomp on it on the highway. As you would likely be in an overdriven gear at the time, jumping all the way down into the traditional 2nd gear causes rpms to skyrocket.
Hey, I appreciate your informative input. I just bought a new 2012 Ram SLT Shortbed with the HEMI and put dual Flowmaster 50s on it. Interesting bout the transmission. Enjoying the truck tho wasnot impressed with the dealership. thnx
2nd Prime was not originally intended as an upshift gear, but people figured out how to access it (mostly for drag racing) so it just morphed into one. For 2012 the engineers put it in the upshift sequence, so yes it is a 6 speed (some call it a marketing ploy) but the gear spacing is goofy. I don't know for sure, but would expect the 2010 ECU would work, it would just switch your shift sequence to eliminate using 2nd Prime during a natural upshift.

If tuners aren't out by the time the warranty expires I might consider it, but until then, the factory installed ECU stays.
Hi, just bought a new 2012 Ram SLT Regular Cabl shortbed and put dual Flowmasters on it. Appreciate your informative input.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
I heard that magnaflow has best performance for the ram but I personally like the Corsa ...only if they made a muffler by itself
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,250 Posts
correct..I wanted to try corsa but it was a lil pricey...went to magnaflows back in 07 and have never been happier...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
I shaved .3 off my time by just removing the spare tire, tail gate and jack.
14.6 to a 14.3. I have a mufflex mufler, stock tires 3.55's and was maually shifting to use 2nd prime. That same day there was a Rumble Bee who had 17" wheels, he said they shaved off almost 1/2 second after he installed a full set with some good tires.

Have fun!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Found out no 1/4 mile within like 100 miles where I live only a 1/8 mile and it's still a hour a way
 
1 - 20 of 35 Posts
Top