DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When my engine is worm it the idle tends to drop down and starts to like choke so it seems i can hear it threw the exhaust and it sounds like it is camed the hell out but its not. Even one i have talked to cant seem to figure out what the problems is. Just wanted to see if any one else has ever had this problem, what it is?

·
Registered
37 Posts
Mine seems to Lope when its cold and when its warm it idles smoother. It does sound likes its cammed. I think my throttle body could use a good cleaning.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i cleaned my throttle body out. it also smells like its burning really rich. That could be because i bought it with a gutted out cat, and 3in piping the rest of the way out. i have owned all chevy my life im new to the dodge game and what dodges like and dont like. i can not seem to figure out this problem.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Could be I.A.C. sensor or another on throttle body called a M.A.P sensor. Do you hear it sucking in air really loud when its doing that?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i had my head under the hood the other day with a few of my motor head buddys they all said sounded like a bad vacuum leak but found nothing.

·
Registered
396 Posts
I have the same problem. When its first started or cold it glugs like it's camed and I have to give it a little gas for 20-30secs and then it will go away. If I don't give it gas the rpms are really low and it sometimes stalls. I assumed it was vacuum but cant find any leaks. I hear something that sounds like a leak right in front of the throttle body but cant find it.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
when you go to put your truck into drive does it start to idle just fine. that is what mine does. it is only when i am sitting it park it does this. driving down the road it runs just fine

·
Registered
37 Posts