DODGE RAM FORUM banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was able to change the tranny shift points to 5900 I have a full tank of 91 octane and also put in a bottle of octane booster. I selected the perf 87 tune and I gotta say....

I DIDN'T NOTICE ANY DIFFERENCE IN POWER AT ALL!
Only change was if shifted at 5900 instead of the stock 5500?
Also did throttle boost to 12% or whatever it says on the trinity and didn't notice any difference there either.

If this is what tuning is all about I think I just waisted $599 and this black plastic tuner POS is going in the trash.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh ok didn't know it was bad, I've never used it in anything before. I installed the 87 tune because I've read that guys have better luck when the gas in their tank is higher octane than the tune.

I didn't not know it takes a bit for the truck to learn it though! I thought once its installed its done doing what it's there to do.

I installed the original tune and took it out.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Well I appreciate the advice everybody, it makes sense now. Gotta say though Sean from hemi fever has helped ALOT broke it down Barney style for me to understand, that guy is great. And you guys rock too I'd be lost without you so thanks!

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Update! Sean @Hemi Fever worked with me most of the day got everything updated and figured out, got his tune in the truck and went for a drive! If this takes a couple days to full potential I'm EXCITED! Cuz right after his tune went in on my 10 mile spree of waisting gas my Faith in tuning is restored! It made a very noticeable difference in power and his tranny tune did a lot too, it's no longer a slug when it hits 2nd and 3rd gear.

Now I'm happy!

Attachments

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·