Votes: 4 20.0%
  • Relatively Easy (1-3 hours)

Votes: 2 10.0%
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
593 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very interested in getting headers.. I'd like to install them myself, but I'm not very good with mechanical stuff..

How would you rate your installing of your headers?
And how much would you pay a shop to install it for you?
Ballpark would be great so I know if I'd be getting ripped off..

I have a 5.7L Hemi

·
Registered
644 Posts
Headers can be a pain in the ass. Usually theres 1-3 bolts that are tough to install on just about every set and can take extra time. Header install time greatly varys, even on the same vehicle. Depending upon the tools you have, lift system (jack, lift, ect), whether you have a 2nd set of hands, and whether you encounter issues with removing old bolts or having them broken off.

I wouldnt rate the install hard depending upon the time, as header installs really aren't a hard job just a time consuming one (provided everything goes smoothly, break a bolt off in the head and thats when it gets a bit harder!).

All said, by yourself Id say about 5-6 hours if everything goes smoothly and taking your time if its your first time doing it on this particular vehicle. Once youve done it once you can lower that time quite a bit.

Id estimate in the range of $200-$300 for an install at a shop as they have proper tools, lifts, air tools and can get it done a bit quicker than the average joe.

·
Registered
477 Posts
I actually had some questions on this too..I already bought my JBA shorties. I will have access to a full lift (places bars on the frame and up it goes) just curious as to some of the extra things i should get. I already have basic tools and anti seize for the bolts I know i need some sort of sealant goo or something not sure what its called lol what other specialty items should I acquire?

·
Registered
3,100 Posts