DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I’ve got a new 2019 Ram Sport with the 5.7 Hemi. I am new to driving trucks so I’m not sure if this noise is normal...the dealership say it is, but my gut says otherwise.
The truck will make a loud gurgling sound from what seems like the exhaust. It’s intermittent and happens at various RPMS and speeds. Today I noticed it for the first 45 minutes of my drive, going around 70 KM - 100 KM. It seems to clear up all of a sudden and then the truck drives so smooth and quiet, going the same speeds. Why does this happen and can it be fixed??

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Sounds like maybe you are hearing the MDS (Multi Displacement System) kicking in and out to me. That would be normal. I heard a new Gen5 ram the other day and it went into the MDS and it made a gurgling sound. MDS systems for all makes never sound good exhaust wise when the MDS activates, you are losing with the RAM 4 cylinders so of course the sound of the exhaust changes.

My old 2016 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi with a Magnaflow muffler on it you could hear the exhaust note change when it went into MDS mode. I have to agree with your dealer that the sound you are hearing is normal, it is just something every MDS engine does when it cuts out half the cylinders.

·
Registered
2,091 Posts
Hello all,

I’ve got a new 2019 Ram Sport with the 5.7 Hemi. I am new to driving trucks so I’m not sure if this noise is normal...the dealership say it is, but my gut says otherwise.
The truck will make a loud gurgling sound from what seems like the exhaust. It’s intermittent and happens at various RPMS and speeds. Today I noticed it for the first 45 minutes of my drive, going around 70 KM - 100 KM. It seems to clear up all of a sudden and then the truck drives so smooth and quiet, going the same speeds. Why does this happen and can it be fixed??