DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A buddy of mine who works in a truck shop (lifts, suspension, all that good stuff) told me something about being able to level my truck without anything but a turn of a wrench. I'm just wondering if anyone knows anything about this. He said I should jack the front end up and there will be a certain screw on either side that if I tighten I should be able to get about 2 inches higher just by that turn of the wrench. I'm new to the whole suspension ordeal and am a little confused. I can get more info on this but has anybody heard of this or does anybody know what screw he's talking about?

·
Resident Technician
14,202 Posts
Your buddy is referring to raising the torsion bars, assuming you have a 2WD. This is done by adjusting the bolts he made reference to. I don't know ecactly how much lift you will get, but 2" would be about the max. What he didn't tell you is that your ride will be stiffer in the front and that you'll have to have it realigned afterward because of the camber and toe changes. I recommend taking it for an alignment and having it all done at once. Just tell them what you have in mind.

·
Registered
5,644 Posts
While it may seem like the cheap way out, I wouldn't want a stiffer ride. If i'd want a stiff ride, I would have keep my toyota tacoma.

·
Dodge Ram Forum - Dodge Truck Forum - Dodge Ram Cl
2,169 Posts
2" leveling kits on eBay for less than $100 should do the trick. All you do is drop your front end and put the leveling kits on top of the coils and bolt it back up.

Be sure to take the sound advice of having it aligned afterward...

·
Registered
177 Posts
He has torsion bars not coils.