DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone having issues with injector pump wear now with the low sulfur fuel?

Have been reading on other forums where people are running 1 oz of 2 stroke oil per gallon of diesel. Anybody here doing this to protect your VE pump?

I am curious as I am building a Jeep with a VE pump 4bt, the little brother to the 6bt in the first gen Cummins Dodges.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Anyone having issues with injector pump wear now with the low sulfur fuel?

Have been reading on other forums where people are running 1 oz of 2 stroke oil per gallon of diesel. Anybody here doing this to protect your VE pump?

I am curious as I am building a Jeep with a VE pump 4bt, the little brother to the 6bt in the first gen Cummins Dodges.
I was a diesel injection technician for 13 years. I rebuilt the injection pumps and injectors for many brands.

First, your ULSD DOES have some deficiencies. It doesn't lubricate as well, and some of the seals and o-rings won't live as long while using it.

I would strongly suggest you NOT use 2 stroke oil, but instead, Marvel Mystery Oil instead, adding perhaps an ounce to a full tank of diesel. Dump it in before you fill the tank. It's absolutely awesome stuff for the health of your fuel system.

Second, I would strongly suggest the use of Stanadyne Performance Formula diesel fuel conditioner - as it was designed by a maker of fuel systems, and it's about the best you can get, period. It also adds lubricity, cold weather gelling protection, smoke reduction, and it starts better in the cold.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I was a diesel injection technician for 13 years. I rebuilt the injection pumps and injectors for many brands.

First, your ULSD DOES have some deficiencies. It doesn't lubricate as well, and some of the seals and o-rings won't live as long while using it.