DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone! I'm new to Rams and have thoroughly enjoyed my new '14 1500 Express Crew Cab 2wd since I've owned it. Bought it about 3 months ago and love it more everyday. So, with that being said, the time has come to start putting what I want/like on the truck. First up were side steps (the wifey's a little short and has a tough time jumping in) so, I found a set of OEM's on the ol craigslist and picked them up for under $100 :smileup:. Not being a huge chrome fan I decided i was going to spray them with rustoleum's truck bed spray. Got 3 cans at Lowe's for about $8 a pop. Cleaned the steps up with soap and water then let them dry for about an hour or so. Grabbed some scotch bright pads and scuffed them up pretty well. I didn't want any issues with this coating.
I had some old microfibers laying around so i soaked them in acetone and wiped the steps down and let dry about 10 or so minutes. Next up was figuring how i was going to hang or place the steps to spray them since i don't have a garage or shop...Soo, my trusty ratchet straps came into play. Hung them between two pillars at the house and boom! I got to spraying. I did a really light coat first to see how this stuff was going to stick to the steps just in case i needed to scuff them up more but, didn't have any issues so on to more coats i went! I did about 4 coats total on each step, plus a little touch ups here and there. The cans run out pretty fast. I got about 1 & 1/2 can per step but, i wish it could have gone a little further. Definitely wouldn't want to spray a bed with this, since multiple coats are a must. After, the final coat i let them dry for about 2 hour's or so. This seemed like enough time and they were not sticky at all.