DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a 99 Ram Sport with the 250HP 360 V8.I'm just beginning work on this truck and to start I want a little more HP without upgrades to the engine(for now).I hear alot about computer reprograms to get a few more ponies and just wondering if anyone has done this and what kinda power did you get.Like I said,right now I'm starting small because this is my daily ride and pulling the engine is out.Eventually I will because sometime in the future I would like to see at least 350 or more HP come outta this engine.But lets start with the computer program.Any help will be greatly appreciated.I see this type of upgrades on TRUCKS and shows like that and wondering if it can be done to my ride.Thanks...

·
Banned
3,844 Posts
Find you a cheap used (make sure it's unlocked) Superchips 3815 for starters. As you upgrade more components (exhaust, cam, you actually have choices for intake manifolds) you can get SCT custom tuning. It is doable to get that much power out of it, but you will need to make some more modifications.

·
Registered
777 Posts
I got a 99 Ram Sport with the 250HP 360 V8.I'm just beginning work on this truck and to start I want a little more HP without upgrades to the engine(for now).I hear alot about computer reprograms to get a few more ponies and just wondering if anyone has done this and what kinda power did you get.Like I said,right now I'm starting small because this is my daily ride and pulling the engine is out.Eventually I will because sometime in the future I would like to see at least 350 or more HP come outta this engine.But lets start with the computer program.Any help will be greatly appreciated.I see this type of upgrades on TRUCKS and shows like that and wondering if it can be done to my ride.Thanks...

Wow! almost 1hp per cubic inch! Its a doable goal, but not without some internal engine mods.