DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working on my sons 95 1500 on and off for a few months. It's nothing special but it's his first ride. I recently took a 700 mile trip with it to make sure all the bugs were worked out of it before I gave it too him. I noticed a clacking in the front hubs so yesterday I took the front axles out to check the seals and differential. The dif looked fine, no shavings, the axles looked ok too but I noticed that niether of them was seating properly which is where the clacking must have been coming from. I put it all back together so the boy could take it for a spin, clacking and all, and about a half block up the street it blew the drivers side bearing and collapsed the wheel, buckled the swaybar and cracked the caliper!!! I have a Clymers for general 95 Chryslers but I need an exploded view of the front end. I'm going to take the whole front axle assembly off the truck and start from scratch. Any thoughts on how I couldve driven it 700 miles with no problem, except the clacking, but the boy takes it for 1/2 a block and the front buckles majorly?
Thanks ahead of time,
D

·
Registered
5 Posts
Man, I hate to say it, as I do not know you at all, but it seems to me that only one of two things has happened.

1) Either you made a mistake during re-assembly (or possibly a freak accident occurred during reassembly that you were unaware of, such as debris / tool / rock insertion); or

2) You got EXTREMELY lucky on your 700 mile trip.

Either way, you will have a massive job on your hands rebuilding. If you can find a donor truck, the process will go a LOT smoother. Just make sure to put new u-joints, axle shaft seals, etc on the donor assembly.

I will look this evening and see if I have a digital copy of the exploded front end for your truck.

·
Registered
4 Posts