DODGE RAM FORUM banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased a 94 dodge ram 1500 v6 2wd and shortly after the tranny is now slipping...I was told I have a A500 tranny is a v8 2wd compatible? Sorry in advance I'm a newb and is my first dodge

·
Registered
1,989 Posts
I purchased a 94 dodge ram 1500 v6 2wd and shortly after the tranny is now slipping...I was told I have a A500 tranny is a v8 2wd compatible? Sorry in advance I'm a newb and is my first dodge
It's actually a 46RH transmission which is an A518. How many miles are on the truck and in which gears do you notice it slips? Be sure to check the ATF level, if it's low it will cause slipping.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ive checked the atf its fine and i brought it to a local tranny shop they confirmed it needs a rebuild but that will cost more than what i paid for the truck($1500)...so i was told it was a a500 by the shop so i guess they were wrong? it is not engaging into third and now reverse is acting funny so a tranny is needed, basically my queston is will the v8 tranny work as long as its from a 2wd and its a 94-96? o its got 150,xxx miles on the motor and runs like a champ so i dont want to give up on it yet.

·
Registered
1,989 Posts
ive checked the atf its fine and i brought it to a local tranny shop they confirmed it needs a rebuild but that will cost more than what i paid for the truck($1500)...so i was told it was a a500 by the shop so i guess they were wrong? it is not engaging into third and now reverse is acting funny so a tranny is needed, basically my queston is will the v8 tranny work as long as its from a 2wd and its a 94-96? o its got 150,xxx miles on the motor and runs like a champ so i dont want to give up on it yet.
The shop is most likely wrong because chrysler used the A518 in your year truck, the A500 and A518 are very similar because of the case, except the A500 has many ridges on the passenger side.