DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys, so I'm new to the forum and was hoping someone could help me out with what to do in terms of my cam. I want to swap mine out just like many before me however I do not know much about them or the whole process. I know it is time consuming and seems difficult but is there any way at all that I could do this myself? I've never done any motor work myself before. Also, I was looking into the Comp Cams 260 but am not sure which cam is right for me. I don't haul and I mostly use my truck for travel and for flying down the highway with my buddies. I would want more torque especially on the low end around 1000rpm and up from there. If someone could help me out that would be great. I was also wondering what modifications would be necessary in doing the swap, head bolts, non-mds lifters, etc. as well as recommended items maybe a new intake manifold? I could really use the advice. Thanks

·
Registered
5,700 Posts
I'm shopping too! :) The less duration, the more torque and low end you will have. A 260 would be a good choice, also check out Inertia and Shophemi.com!

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I seem to like the Crazy Jay better. Especially since I can't afford to do heads or anything like that. It says it works well with stock exhaust manifold and heads which is a plus. Which were you leaning towards?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I have a 2007 so I would either go with the Crazy Jay or the Spartan. I just checked that out and it looks pretty dirty. I have a predator tuner so it would work out according to what they have there. Do you think thats a good route?

·
Registered
5,700 Posts
For torque and grunt, crazy jay! Wait for Chefred112 or Autobred to chime in too! They have cams, and race!

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #9