DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I couldn't quite believe that the top of the range 8.4 UConnect would not allow you to navigate to a destination by Zipcode or postcode.

I spent hours reading the manual / trying all ways to enter a destination, on Google, on these forums...

It appears you can't

Not a problem if you know the Town / Street / Number of everywhere you want to go. BUT ... if the place you want to go is in the countryside and doesn't have a street name, or is between towns ... you have no way of entering it into the Nav unit. It does not recognise small village names

ALL sat navs from the $50 portable units to the $50 iPhone apps allow you to navigate by post code/zipcode ...

What possible logic caused someone at Chrysler to decide that this is not needed in a $2000 unit?

Am I being dumb here and missing something?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
452 Posts
Yeah, I've never understood why built-in automotive GPS units cost so much since they are terrible compared to a $150 Garmin or the built-in apps on a smartphone. Then to add insult to injury they try and charge $200 for map updates when everyone else gives them out for free.

In the old days people who just absolutely had to have a built in GPS could replace the factory unit if they found a better aftermarket system but now that the radio also controls othe vehicle functions and settings I don't think it is possible.

When I'm King of Chrysler I will give the option of having an iPad mini dock built in where the stereo goes. You'd be able to download an app to control the radio, settings etc but you'd also be able to use whatever GPS app you want (like my beloved Waze).

So let this message be my official announcement that I'm running for King of Chrysler.

I'm Edge and I approve of this message.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,248 Posts
No sh!t. This navigation system I spent $500 on doesn't hold a candle to a $100 Garmin.

Yesterday I used VR to set a destination, so where does it look, in Florida of all places. I was in Michigan and it knew that, it showed my current location correctly on the map. And how does Michigan sound like Florida to the VR system?

I want my money back!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
OP is from UK? Good grief, I had trouble navigating a little Toyota rental car on those roads, can't imagine getting around in a 1500!!!

The VR is pretty crappy. Apparantly my house in Ontario is somewhere in Maryland. :i_rolleyes:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
563 Posts
Its not just the Dodge navi, the MFT in the '13 F150 I just traded would not let you change the destination state, would only search the state you were driving in using voice or manual input - silliest thing I ever seen.

The Garmin/Uconnect will let you pick a destination outside the state you are driving in when in motion at least. You can always use the 'city center' where-to on the menu if you know the name. unfortunately that doesnt work using voice commands so it a no-go while driving.

I dont think I have found any factory nav units that work as well as a 100-200.00 Garmin of the same generation, the newest 5" Nuvi I have has flawless voice commands, lifetime updates, better traffic etc.

But the factory NAV has one big advantage, its built in..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
... yep ... in good old rainy England. Small roads. Small parking spaces. Driving on the left hand side of the road ... Ideal environment for a 1500 crew cab!

But some people over here do love their Rams.

The 2012 Nav units worked great (they looked a little dated ... but you could enter a zip code!) - the 2013 nav units look great but have much less functionality when it comes to entering where you want to go ... which seems a big step backwards. I really thought I must be missing something and there would be an option somewhere I hadn't ticked... but I guess not.

Love the trucks and the features they added for 2013 ... just wish they hadn't deleted some that they had in 2012!



Rams across the Atlantic!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
563 Posts
... yep ... in good old rainy England. Small roads. Small parking spaces. Driving on the left hand side of the road ... Ideal environment for a 1500 crew cab!

But some people over here do love their Rams.

The 2012 Nav units worked great (they looked a little dated ... but you could enter a zip code!) - the 2013 nav units look great but have much less functionality when it comes to entering where you want to go ... which seems a big step backwards. I really thought I must be missing something and there would be an option somewhere I hadn't ticked... but I guess not.

Love the trucks and the features they added for 2013 ... just wish they hadn't deleted some that they had in 2012!



Rams across the Atlantic!
I had the 730 (non Garmin NAV) in my '12 and I liked it way more than this '13, but I'll get used to it. It doesnt matter what they do some will like it and others will want different features. my biggest complaint with the '13 is its pretty easy to get it confused and it will just lock up, when it comes back some settings will change.

I'm sure after about 20 software/firmware updates down the road it will work better :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Postcodes are pretty useless in the US - that's probably why it's not in there. (Yes, I understand you're in the UK but think about where the system was designed). Personally I think they're great because they've always come in handy when I've been over there (have about 5000 miles in the past two years in the UK).

That said, there is something that will do the trick and that's GPS coordinates. You can indeed enter locations by typing in the GPS coordinates, which if you have the postcode you can get very easily using Google Maps. Then just punch it into the navacomputer and make the jump to lightspeed. That's what I did to get to a place up in the hills that didn't have an address. Worked just fine.

https://support.google.com/maps/answer/18539?hl=en
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
185 Posts
In the US, GPS coords are much more accurate than navigation by zipcodes. In the US, navigation by zipcodes, would be nearly useless —except for confirming correct city or town. Coords can get you within a range equivelant to the accuracy of your GPS system —typically within a few feet on consumer GPS devices.

I have never visited the UK, and I am not familiar with their zipcodes, however, I would imagine this to be true there as well
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
204 Posts
I haven't tried but are you not able to just click on a spot on the map and go NAV to that spot? I loved the NAV I had in my Acura and havent seen a build in NAV that compared to that yet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
563 Posts
I haven't tried but are you not able to just click on a spot on the map and go NAV to that spot? I loved the NAV I had in my Acura and havent seen a build in NAV that compared to that yet.
You can click on a spot and navagate to it, but trying to move the crosshair can get pretty frustrating at times. Its pretty laggy and it will hang up when scrolling around using the touch screen.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
- Over here ... on the 2012 models: if you enter a zipcode, it would automatically find the city and road - all you have to do is add the house number and bingo.

Otherwise you have to manually enter city / street and number ...

If the place you want to go is in the countryside, over here whilst the postal adderss may be a city, the village or place may be several miles outside of the city and they don't always have street names ... so there's no way to enter your destination.

Also it may be a village name that's not in the database.

In this case a zipcode makes things SO easy !
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
In the US, GPS coords are much more accurate than navigation by zipcodes. In the US, navigation by zipcodes, would be nearly useless —except for confirming correct city or town. Coords can get you within a range equivelant to the accuracy of your GPS system —typically within a few feet on consumer GPS devices.

I have never visited the UK, and I am not familiar with their zipcodes, however, I would imagine this to be true there as well
UK post codes go right to the door - the same as the US ZIP+4 system. However, in the US most people still don't use the ZIP+4 even though it's been around for over 10 years.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top