DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is everyone getting for their normal oil pressure at both a stop and under load?

I changed the oil in my truck today, and now I'm noticing what I think is a little bit low oil pressure while stopped (a light or stop sign). It's about 24-30 psi on the digital gauge in the EVIC, and is almost straight up and down (in the middle) of the analog gauge in the cluster. While it's under load it appears to be normal ~50-55 psi on the EVIC and a little to the right of the middle on the analog. I'm also noticing that my idle (if it in fact called idle) while stopped at either a light or a stop sign is down to around 500 RPMs.. this seems a little low too, which could explain the lower oil pressure.

I put in Mobil 1 5W20, but I used a Bosche filter, which I've never done before. I'm not sure if it's related or not. I've checked several times, there are no leaks, fill cap is on and tight, and everything else that I can think of looks good.

Should I be concerned?

Exco

·
Registered
3,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
the plot thickens. I noticed last night when I went to work that MDS doesn't appear to be working either.

I'm suspecting that it's my oil filter. Gonna replace it with the Mobil 1 filter that I should've bought the first time, top off the oil as needed and see what happens.

I'll post in a day or two with results.

Exco

·
Registered
3,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
***update***

all seems to be well and working the way that it should be.

Oil pressure is normal, both under load and at idle. MDS appears to be functioning normal.

I haven't gotten around to changing the filter, think I'm gonna wait a bit and see if the problem reappears.

Exco

·
Registered
2,315 Posts
***update***

all seems to be well and working the way that it should be.

Oil pressure is normal, both under load and at idle. MDS appears to be functioning normal.