DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I don't like chrome and I would love to paint my grill and bumpers black. I have no experience painting vehicles but I would love to do it myself if I could. I don't want to pay someone to do it since I'm afraid to even find out how much they would charge. Is this something I may be able to do myself, with a little bit of research?

·
Registered
3,120 Posts
I have no experience with painting over chrome but I know there are a few members on here that have done their grilles and bumpers too, I think SS4luck did his grille but I could be mistaken for someone else, did you try searching for threads at the top of the page?

·
Registered
80 Posts
If you would like to paint the bumpers, I did mine or my previous 10 QC Dodge, make sure you ruff up the chrome with like some 80 Grit Sand paper. Wipe down with alcohol and a tack cloth. Spray base coat with an etching Primer to adhere better to the chrome. After at least 2 coats of etching primer put a couple coats of top coat (color) and then put at least 2 coats of clear. This is about a 2-3 day process to give time for all paints to dry the recommended time. I will post pics later once I find.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
I'm trying to decide between painting them black myself or just waiting a few months and saving up for a Line-X job. The advantage of Line-X is it will be much more durable, but I don't know how much they charge for the job (they are closed on the weekend). If I go the Line-X route I will have them hit my side steps as well.

Edit: After some more reading I have narrowed the choices down to having the parts powder coated or Line-X'd or Rhino Lined. I'm guessing all three are very expensive so I probably won't do any right away but I will call around Monday and get some pricing info to see how prices vary.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·