DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Gang I`ve been looking for someone in the forum that might know the ins and outs regarding sattelite radio. Long story short, for some reason my stereo wont accept signal from Sirius . I have a stock unit in my truck, and everything else audio works fine. Pleeeeez hep me. seeya Big Dog
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,418 Posts
Have you called Sirius? There was talk that some people didn't get the 1yr free trial and their account was turned off early. I'd check there first.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Here,s the long version of my situation. My kids got me a subscription for xmas I tried to activate 3 times with Sirius on the phone the entire time. Sirius tried to reset the system and reverify the codes and radio id numbers. The factory stereo was replaced by dealer a while back under warranty for cd player problems. Can you or someone you know tell me if the anteneas for for radio/sat are combined or do they have seperate ports at the unit?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,418 Posts
Here,s the long version of my situation. My kids got me a subscription for xmas I tried to activate 3 times with Sirius on the phone the entire time. Sirius tried to reset the system and reverify the codes and radio id numbers. The factory stereo was replaced by dealer a while back under warranty for cd player problems. Can you or someone you know tell me if the anteneas for for radio/sat are combined or do they have seperate ports at the unit?
I don't know. I would assume the antenna is a separate, non-serialized part. I thought it was just the radio that they needed to verify. I'm by no means and expert though since I let the subscriptions run out and never renew. I'm just not in the truck all that much to warrant spending $ on the radio.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
do you have a black pod on your roof? if so that is the sirius antenna! Could be that the dealer forgot to plug it in to the radio when they installed your new one.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
32,782 Posts
I don't understand why no one want s to say what the heck their radio is

it doesn't matter what year your Ram is

what is the sales code of the MEDIA CENTER
what are the 3 letters at the bottom right corner of the radios face

you are asking us to guess which of 6 radios you have
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Could be one of a few things. Most likely it's the Sirius receiver. It could be bad, could have died, etc. Another possibility is that it's the antennae, as those things can go bad as well. If you had Sirius working with you, all they can do is all they can do. Once their options are exhausted, as far as they're concerned, it's time to take your truck in to the dealership. That's probably where you are now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
258 Posts
I purchased the lifetime Sirius plan (and love it) back in 2005 so I'm pretty familiar with Sirius. As someone else already mentioned, the antenna for Sirius on our stock trucks is the low profile black antenna on the roof of our trucks. The standard radio antenna is not for Sirius...only radio.

Sirius is very thorough with Serial numbers so having your stock head unit swapped out at the dealer for a Warranty issue may very well be the likely culprit here as the new unit may NOT be eligible for the 1 year, free sirius trial. If in fact you are entitled to any of that 1 year promotion, then you can contact your dealer and get the issue squared away as they'll have to eat the cost for their mistake. Your best bet would be to call Sirius and ask them if the serial number of your unit is eligible for the free trial and if not, what they think the issue could be. If it isn't the head unit's serial, then it's the sirius antenna not being properly connected.

EDIT: I just noticed your truck is a 2008, so it's likely that you are not eligible for the Free Sirius plan. Are you an actual subscriber to Sirius? Have you paid them anything? If not, there's your problem. When you go through channels on Sirius if the head unit is picking anything up you should be able to go to the info tab on the head unit and see the track/artist information. If you can, then you ARE getting signal and the issue is somewhere else. But it's likely you are NOT getting signal, and your stations will reflect you not getting signal by saying so. If you answer all the questions in my post and then contact Sirius after, your question should be answered.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Even if you are NOT getting reception through Sirius, through the antennae, or through the tuner, you should still be getting the default Sirius channel when you are on the Satellite radio tuner on your stereo. I think it's channel 141? Regardless, it will not show an artist or a song, but rather it will continuously say "Call 1-800-Sirius", or something along those lines.

If you're not even getting that, I'm not sure where the problem lies from there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
First thing thanx to all who read and replyed. Sorry for the lack of info about the head unit.It is an am fm 6 cd with mp3 but there is no jack for the mp3. I have 2 trucks the issue is in my 2006 Ram 1500 Big Horn SLT quad cab. My kids bought me a subscription so that free thing is not the problem. I went to a local audio outfit and they said something about flash programming. Im wondering if the dealer did the job right. thanx again folks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Sattelite Radio Woes

I don't understand why no one want s to say what the heck their radio is

it doesn't matter what year your Ram is

what is the sales code of the MEDIA CENTER
what are the 3 letters at the bottom right corner of the radios face

you are asking us to guess which of 6 radios you have
I apoligize for the lack of info about my stereo. The code you need is RAQ, It is a am fm 6 cd mp3 but there is no port/jack for the mp3. Thanx for your help
Big Dog 2008
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
32,782 Posts
I believe that you are going to have to go back to ever did the install
either they didn't do it correctly, or used an incorrect part, or maybe there is a missing part
I would have them activate the radio for you, it should not cost anything, if it was their mistake

If it were me, i would take the sirius subscription paperwork with me
put a grin on my face & let them know the steps that you have taken
Hopefully you can get it done quickly

I forgot that the older radios don't have the Sales Code right on the face, that must have started in '09

I am only guessing, but i believe that you have the
RAQ radio 2006-2008 Dodge Ram 1500 Factory AM/FM 6 Disc CD Radio

scroll down to Sales Code RAQ radio - Operation on this page, about 2/3rds of the way down
http://www.wkjeeps.com/wk_radios.htm#REQ

I saw one thing that may be a problem, you may need a module or something
AM/FM/CD (6-disc changer) radio with optional satellite radio, hands free phone and vehicle entertainment systems (VES) capabilities. MP3 playback capable.


DODGE 1500 PICKUP 06-08 (recvr), radio, w/o Nav; w/hands free UConnect, 6 disc CD (RAQ), w/o dual zone ATC
DODGE 2500 PICKUP 06-09 (recvr), radio, w/o Nav; w/hands free UConnect, 6 disc CD (RAQ), w/o dual zone ATC
DODGE 3500 PICKUP 06-09 (recvr), radio, w/o Nav; w/hands free UConnect, 6 disc CD (RAQ), w/o dual zone ATC

Good Luck
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top