DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, first post.

Got my new 2019 a couple weeks ago, it is an amazing truck. I am still learning where all the buttons are.

I want to dive into the forum by asking a bit about the sheet metal. The left front fender in particular.

Here is the thing. I am driving along, get a call I must take. I have not yet figured out the Uconnect so I was speaking on the actual phone.. It is a nice day in a quiet area so I hop out, wander around a while speaking on the phone.

I migrate toward the front left render and rest my elbow on the top, then prop against the fender a bit . . . looking like the Fonze all cool and stuff.

All cool until the fender goes "Bonk"!!!. The fender caves in like it is made of paper mache'!!! I step back and am horiffied to see that I have a huge dent in the fender. I mean, it is 18" across and three 3"deep. On a two day old truck!! 馃樀馃樀馃樀馃樀

Seems like it has done the "Oil Drum" thing.

I am freaking out, this CAN'T BE HAPPENING!!

I inspect the dent, maybe it will pop back out. So I bump it in strategic areas with.the meat of my fist and sure enough "Bonk" it pops back out.

But it leaves a crease right in the center. Very noticable.

I am sick about it, run ask the dealer about it and of course he tells me to go kick rocks.

I was NOT leaning into it with any weight. I could have caved it in with my thumb. Really, I could literally, actually cave in my fender using a finger.

Anyone have a similar experience?

What shoud I do? Storm the dealership? Contact the manufacturer? Live with it?

Thanks, I already feel better just venting.
Jon

Super Moderator
Welcome to Ramforumz! We're glad to have you here. I moved your post to an area where more members will see it.