DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, my wife decided to surprise me by renting a 2017 Hartland Pioneer 270BH for a camping trip. The specs for this thing are:

• GVWR -7632
  • Hitch Weight -632
  • UVW - 5795
  • CCC - 1837
  • Exterior Length - 31'6"
  • Exterior Height - 11'
  • Exterior Width - 96"
  • Fresh Water - 55 gal
  • Gray Water - 42 gal
  • Black Water - 42 gal
  • Awning Size - 20'
My concern is that I have no real experience towing with this air suspension and wonder if I am pushing envelope with my 2017 Rebel. I do not have upgraded anything on the suspension. Would appreciate thoughts...oh btw, she kept this as a surprise to the point that we lose most of the money if we cancel... I love that woman, but we now have an agreement that there will be no further "surprises" involving my truck towing or hauling anything (even a Barbie Doll bed for the girl next door).

VIC

·
Registered
3,264 Posts
You'll need a weight distributing hitch with sway control. The specs are very close to what I tow with my Bighorn. I added airlift 1000 airbags to help with the weight, but your air suspension combined with the wdh should handle the trailer fine, just watch how you load the trailer and what you carry in the truck / bed. Pay attention to your max payload.

It sounds like you're looking for truck specific info, so I won't get into anything beyond what you asked.

·
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
3,245 Posts
Good advice there from 14Hemi. Hopefully the rental place will also rent (and setup) a WDH for ya. Other than that, enjoy the trip! Look forward to hearing all about it. :smileup:

·
Registered
180 Posts
When hitching up you'll want to use the following procedure for properly adjusting the weight distributing hitch with the factory air: