DODGE RAM FORUM banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at buying a superchips 3845 programmer for my 2012 with 5.7. Trucks been a turd since I bought it. Zero guts for being a big v8! Will a programmer give me more low end while running 87 or do I have to run 91/93. Is it worth buying? I have zero experience with programmers

·
Registered
37 Posts
I can't say what they do to the Ram's but I had a Pontiac G8 (6L) that I chipped and it was a night and day difference. Was well worth the money. I didn't buy a truck though to roast the tires. Might be worth it though if it helped MPG.

·
Registered
208 Posts
OK most of this is a cut and paste from another thread I posted in, but...

I just purchased a Superchips "FlashPaq" 3842 for my 2008 Ram 1500 with a 4.7L. I did a lot of research on it first, because I could have done a lot of other things with that much money and just kept driving my truck the way it was (which incidentally, I wasn't really UNhappy with). I will tell you upfront that the results of my weeks of reading forums and watching videos was that for the average Joe, the Superchips unit is the way to go. There are a ton of options to change the tune of your truck (Diablo, custom tunes, etc.), but for me (and most), this is the best way.

Now, let me tell you. That Superchips 3842 Flashpaq made my 08 4.7L (stock with 310hp/330tq) feel like a Hemi. No exaggeration. And that's on the more conservative "87 Octane" setting. I can't wait to play with the "91 Performace" and "93 Performance" settings later this spring and summer. You can run any one you want, but I'm impressed with the 87 tune. A guy like you who isn't satisfied with a stock HEMI may need to go all the way and run the 93 Performance tune. Go for it dude!